June 4 - Prayer Shawl


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mary Ann and EricaMary Ann and EricaMary Ann and Erica

When we placed the shawl around her, she drew Erica into its fold as well.
June 4 - Prayer Shawl

My brother-in-law is Alan Bill, pastor of the Barton and Lockwood Methodist Churches. When my sister, Diana, and Alan found out I was being called to Haiti, they placed me on their churchs’ prayer lists. One of the members of their church knits prayer shawls and I was asked to come and select one to bring with me to Haiti. I was charged with finding someone that God would want to have this shawl. I selected this brightly colored blue one. I have, indeed, been praying about and looking for this special person. I have had many conversations with Major Hertj (you’ll remember my roommate from Norway, who is active with the SA children’s school). She had stayed with me only 2 days and then moved down to the school compound to be closer to her ‘children’.

I believe this is the person God wanted to receive this shawl from this church. Let me tell you about her. Her name is Mary Ann and she is 91 years of age, living in the SA camp in a tent with her 5 year old great-granddaughter, Erica. Mary Ann has lost most of her family and
Mary Ann Erica and Major HertjMary Ann Erica and Major HertjMary Ann Erica and Major Hertj

Major Hertj translated for me.
Erica is her responsibility to raise. She has always been and continues to be a hard worker. She attends the SA church next to the camp and participates in its singing group for Sunday services. She is also a member of the League of Mercy, a group of the SA church that visits people in need. Mary Ann thinks there are lots of people worse off than she is.

Major Hertj translated for me as I presented her with the shawl and explained that it was from a little church back home just for her. The people of this church wanted her to feel the arms of God surrounding her every time she put it around her. When this was translated, she drew it closer around her and closed her eyes. I’d like to think she was indeed feeling God’s arms around her. Then I presented her with the card that everyone in the church had signed. I explained to her that each person in this church signed the card and sent a prayer for her. Major Hertj translated her answer - “I will pray for you and every person in this card”. She was particularly taken with the front of the card, which showed a giant rainbow.

I have two pictures - one of Mary Ann and Erica and one of the two of them with Major Hertj. To the folks back home, I hope you feel I have chosen well and that you have indeed had a part in touching someone’s life with the hope and peace of our Lord here in Port-au-Prince, Haiti.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb