Quiro hablar Espagnol


Advertisement
Published: April 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I'll just come clean instantly and state my true intentions of visiting San Pedro La Laguna at lake Atitlan...
I am going to attend Spanish-school for 4 to 6 weeks, depending on how long it takes for me to get the hang of it.
I will be primarily looking to speak fluid basic Spanish to aid me in further travels and to allow me to communicate freely with the populace.
That does mean that the blog wont be very interesting during that time but that's a small price to pay I guess.
In San Pedro I will be following one-on-one lessons(which means I have a teacher all to myself) at a school situated at the shores of the lake.
I will be in class for 4hours a day/5days a week and live in with a local family for as long as I am following lessons.

---

Kay so I arrived in San Pedro, checked in at my host-families house as well as at the school and am liking it all very much.
San Pedro did not turn out to be as small as I (I admit) had feared and has a lot to offer in terms of evening and weekend activities which is a really welcome bonus to the package I had signed up for.

At the house I have my own room(with balcony and view of the lake/mountains), all the rest is shared and I receive 3meals a day for 6days of the week.
At the school I can choose between 4, 5 or 6hrs of lessons per days for 5days a week, I am starting out at 4 and might increase that number later depending on how things turn out.

The trip over here was quite exhausting though as it took me over 20hours to get from Flores to San Pedro and made me skip a nights sleep.
But when I arrived I basically had dinner with the family and went to bed, where I slept for 11hrs or so...Which means that now I am fresh as a daisy while writing about my future plans and getting ready to go to my first Spanish lesson 😉

The next entry might take a bit longer since I am guessing I won't be experiencing a whole lot of overly interesting things while in San Pedro.
So now I go hables espagnol,
greetings from San Pedro La Laguna,
Spanish student, Pedro.
😉

Advertisement



27th April 2011

ONGELOOFLIJK
pieje echt respect!!!
27th April 2011

gracias ;p just had my first lessons and it went rather well :) now i got to start my homework though :(
29th April 2011

felicidad con su decision
Yesterday the system of the travelblog forum was changed and this made it impossible to reach you. I assume you expected a lot of reactions after your unexpected decision, but as explained, we couldn't get through. First of all congratulations with your decision. The more languages you speak the more progress you can make in your contacts with other people. This knowledge of the Spanish language may also help when you have a job where the knowledge of this language is necessary. After I was retired I followed Spanish lessons during 5 years. 2 hours a week.3 years ago I finished this. Unlike the English language, you have very little links in Belgium with the Spanish language. No radio, no television, no newspapers. So Pedro you will have to watch out. I lost a lot of my " Spanish". If you want to avoid that you will have to look for means to keep up your " Spanish " at an acceptable level. You are now following an intensive course and you will have no choice but to speak the whole day nothing else than Spanish words with that family where you are staying. This is the best possible way to learn fluent Spanish.There is one thing you must keep in mind. Try to speak as much as you can and don't mind to make mistakes. I wish you all the best with it and after your return to Belgium we can perhaps try to have a nice conversation in Spanish. Your lessons will take 4 to 6 weeks. Is this making a hole in your pocket ? And what about Katie ? Is she the trigger ? I haven't forgotten that anonymous person. I had doubts about that person from the beginning. Mystery man made two mistakes. First it was obvious that he was someone who likes food like I do, secondly he knew exactly the difference in length. There are not so many persons, who know that. So dad your try is much appreciated. But Pedro he is right when writing that the resemblance is not depending on length but on many other things. Anyhow it is clear that he is proud that you are his son and I am sure that you are proud that he is your father. Notwithstanding that for a while you will have no spectacular things to report, I do hope that from time to time you will let us have some news. Perhaps this will help you to keep up your entertaining narrative style, which, have I to say it again is much appreciated. I hope that soon you will find some "amigos". Also a few pints of beer may help to improve your Spanish. And if you find some nice girls on your way, don't be shy, start talking with all the words you know already and you will see that it was worthwhile. Pedro keep sending us a report now and then and we will arrange the feedback. Espero recibir muchas noticias la semana que viene. Que te diviertas en San Pedro La Laguna. Hay muchas bonitas chicas en San Pedro ? Claro que si. Pedro te deseo mucho exito. Un bueno week-end.
30th April 2011

Que tengas suerte con su curso/Good luck with your course
I have picked up my good old Spanish text-books in order to write you a few words in the Spanish language. No,it isn't my intention to start up again the study of this language. Pedro cuidado con las palabras que comenzar con la letra V. Es igual a la letra B. Por lo tanto debes decir Balencia en lugar de Valencia. Berdad en lugar de verdad. Aprender la lengua espanola no es facil. Estamos de acuerdo Pedro ? Todo quiere empezar, todo es empezar. Soy curioso por saber el resultado de su curso. Puedes hablar mucho ? Escribes todos lo que el profesor ha dicho ? Vas nos escribir en la lengua espanola algunas palabras ? Con mis gracias anticipadas.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb