Earth and Beyond


Advertisement
Published: January 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

farm workfarm workfarm work

the daily banana haul
Hey people,

Here are some pics of Nicaragua and Honduras for you. I´ll let you see for yourself...

Life at Spirit Camp ´09 is going great. We´re about a month in now and I´ve been doing more study than I ever did at uni! We´re learning tarot, astrology and a whole bunch of other stuff based on the Qabalistic Tree of Life. There´s a one month and a three month course that you can do here. I did the Moon course (the one month course) last year and am doing the Sun course now. The last part of the Moon course is a week in silence and us Sunnies join in on that one. This time round it happened to land on my birthday!

How amazing it is to spend your birthday in silence. No talking, no eye contact and no food. My friends on the courses made it pretty amazing, leaving me little notes, cards and balloons. I think that not being able to express your joy externally makes it an even more intense feeling internally. And at one point I was so happy I drooled. Fancy that. It was certainly a birthday I´ll never forget!
farm work2farm work2farm work2

Here we are sifting dried rice after the harvest. Good for the arm muscles!

So life at the lake goes on. The Great Scorpion Tally (number of scorpions found in my room) is slowly increasing. I´m up to five now and I can verify for a fact that those f@%kers really hurt. One sting I would call self-defence, but three stings when you´re asleep is NOT cool. It certainly woke me up and I stayed up till 4am doing aerobics in the garden to get the poison out of my system. Crikey.

Anyways, enough rambling for now. In a couple of weeks we go into silence for 47 days (!) to meditate on everything that we´ve read and all the stuff our subconscious already knows so I have to go do some cramming.

Much love,

The 25 year old






Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

NeemingNeeming
Neeming

On the weekly neem spraying mission. Who ya gonna call?
chocolate!chocolate!
chocolate!

We made our own chocolate on the farm from fresh cocoa beans, honey and rum. Yum! The lime and chilli flavour was a hit.
Working beeWorking bee
Working bee

At the working bee for the new community centre in Balgue. From old crack house to a fine institute for learning in a few stroked of a paintbrush.
mountain goatsmountain goats
mountain goats

On the hike up one of the volcanoes on Isla de Ometepe. I forget it´s name. But this is Nat :)
Horse frightHorse fright
Horse fright

One day I went on a horse trek with a 37yo Nica friend called Nelson and this chica (16yo), the apple of his eye. Little did I know that her mum wouldn´t let her go without a chaperone (me). Despite being the 3rd wheel and a terrible spanish speaker, it was fun. Here the horses are bolting and Nelson is chasing them.
Three stinky malinkisThree stinky malinkis
Three stinky malinkis

This is Cat and Aira who I lived and worked with on the island. Both mad as a box of frogs :) Cat and I hitched south after this...´Excuse me, which way is Costa Rica?´- Cat
caribbean christmascaribbean christmas
caribbean christmas

On Utila, Hondurian Caribbean. Despite the inbreeding on the island, the snowmen species persists
hostel lightshostel lights
hostel lights

Playing with the camera. Some pretty lights at a hostel I stayed at.
Caribbean chicasCaribbean chicas
Caribbean chicas

The wonderful Kimberley and I heading out for a snorkel
spork ho!spork ho!
spork ho!

Heading back to Guatemala. I bought this rockmelon to share with people on the bus and proceeded to devour the whole thing. Ahhh tropical fruit bliss.


Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb