My Weekend


Advertisement
Published: June 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I have some funny stories!

So on Friday, my friends and I saw a flyer for a live music show, and we thought it would be to go. So we did. It was this nice-ish bar/club type thing. There were quite a few people there, but there's two main characters of interest. One was this young dude wearing a headband, sandals, and shorts, from the US. he had a girl hanging off him that was about as pale as a vampire.

We sit down, and about 15 minutes later, we see the dude carrying the girl out of the bar. She's collapsed. Naturally, we all think he has drugged her and is going to rape her, so we rush over. He drops her near the door, as he can't carry her farther. I roll her over, there's no pulse or respiration. I'm getting ready to start CPR, when she suddenly wakes up!

After making sure she is friends with the guy, we take her to a quieter area. She is totally unconcerned with what happened. Apparently, she bought two marijuana brownies from the bartender, had had one drink, and had not eaten anything all day. She also said she is anemic, and her friend said she throws up to stay thin. She refuses to go the hospital, and we leave to go back to our table.

Sheesh. Now I understand where all those stories about idiot foreigners come from.

We left shortly after another incident, which I shan't recount for fear of giving my mother a heart attack! The odd thing is, this was supposed to be a nice place. And I guess it was, by Guatemalan standards. One of the interesting aspects of being in a country with corrupt police and a large number of unenforced laws, I suppose.

I did find a pool place on Saturday that a couple of us went and played at for a few hours. The table is hilariously unlevel...the balls roll around randomly, almost. It made the game particularly challenging.

More later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb