Trip to Pana and Visiting Julia's Cooperative


Advertisement
Published: June 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Saturday morning 19 students gathered around the doors of the school and we waited for Luis Enrique (he works for the school) to get his shuttle bus ready and we headed to Panajachel. After a great bit of traffic we finally made it.

I quickly took them to the hotel and organized all the people who wanted to go to visit Julia’s cooperative - La Asociacion de Lideres de Mujeres (de Solola) - which is in a tiny rural community just above the small town of Solola. Julia Par, along with Maria Toc and other ladies of the cooperative, took us into the office/home of Julia. There she spoke to all 13 students about the origins, purpose, and goals of the cooperative and I translated. Afterwards the students checked out some of the products and bought some stuff.

While the students were “shopping” I spoke with Maria Toc about some phrases in Kakchiquel (which she said is easier to learn than Kiche - though they are very similar). She also asked me if I’ve ever been to a Mayan religious ceremony to which I replied no. I did tell her that I was extremely interested in and fascinated by the culture and that I would love to go to one. Maria told me that she has 2 uncles and 1 aunt that are sacerdotes (priests - of old Mayan beliefs) and the next time I come I can check out a ceremony. That got me to thinking that maybe I can get to know these priests and possibly live with them and study with them for a little bit of time in the future.

At the end Julia, speaking on behalf of all the women, expressed her gratitude to all of us for visiting her home and being interested in their lives, as well as supporting the fair trade of a women’s cooperative (they receive all the profits of their labor - no middlemen). They gave us what they had - each a banana and a strip of clothe that can be used as a bookmark. Maria and Julia gave me a second longer one to express their personal thanks to me.

Leaving, all the students told me how much they enjoyed that experience. This really made me feel good because I set this up apart from the school to help Julia’s cooperative but at the same time I was able to show them a part of Guatemalan life that is not so often seen by foreigners. Also, one girl in the group gave me a horrible report (which are done weekly in regard to the quality of the teachers, office, and activities) for the activities the previous week (I was deathly ill yet still working 10 hours a day!) and I wanted to prove to her that I am indeed a good guide (which I am according to every other student). So we’ll have to see what she puts about me on this Thursday’s report.

That night was my friend Drew’s last night and we sure did celebrate! We ate Malaysian food, drank Guatemalan beer and sang music for the first part of the night. Later we went out to some bars and eventually most of the students went back to the hotel. Ambika, Drew, and I went to buy more booze. We choose Quetzalteca, the official drink of all the drunks in the streets - now we know why! It is extremely cheap and very potent. We went down to the water and drank and met up with 2 guys from Pana who were chilling playing guitar. We hung out with them for quite a while and eventually came back to hotel. Sunday was very rough.

So Kriss and I have been dating for a few weeks now and have kept in on the downlow for the most part. She is a teacher here and her aunt is the director. On Saturday she finally told her aunt, whom I get along with very well, and now the whole school is talking about us. It doesn't really bother me but it does make for some strange situations at times. However, I am very happy so it doesn't break my skin.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb