Chichicastenango and more...


Advertisement

On Saturday (June 3rd) I didn´t do anything but move to my new apartment above the school and clean it a bit and get it organized. Later in the afternoon Kriss came by and we went to find a guitar and I finally found one! It was about time cause I´ve had my mandolin but it isn´t the same to sing with. After playing that for a little bit, we went to a new Indian restaurant, El Sabor de La India, which was really good and plentiful, I had to take some home.

On Sunday (June 4th) I woke up early and took the students to Chichicastenango. Here they have a HUGE market on Thursdays and Sundays, though Sunday is the biggest. There is an old colonial Catholic church in the middle of the market as well. Although it is a Catholic church, there are also non-Catholic ceremonies and rituals, a syncretism of traditional Mayan religious beliefs and the Catholic faith. Masheños, the people from Chichi, are known for their adherence to these pre-Chrisitian religious beliefs and ceremonies. The cofradías, religious brotherhoods, hold processions that lead to the church on Sundays.

*Although Chichi was originally inhabited by the Kaqchiquel prior to the arrival of Spanish conquistadors, soon thereafter they abandoned it and the K´iché took over (Kaqchiquel and K´iché are 2 of the 22 indigenous Maya groups in Guatemala). Another interesting note is one of their famous festivals is Quema del Diablo, or the Burning of the Devil. This takes place on December 7 and Masheños burn their garbage in the streets "to release the evil spirits within". Marimba music and crazy fireworks occur at night and the following day is the Feast of the Immaculate Conception.

Can´t say that too much has happened this week. On Monday I got both gas (for my stove and oven) and cable. Kriss drove me to the big supermarket where I bought food to cook - big feast, still eating it today!

I hope everyone´s doing well, I do miss everybody, while at the same time I am feeling more and more at home here. Ya´ll can come visit me if you want!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb