Guatemala in a Week: Chichicastenango to Antigua, and the finale


Advertisement

Chichicastenango is a 2000 year old Mayan market which takes place every Thursday and Sunday. It sells everything from live chickens, flowers, vegetables and Mayan handicrafts. It's touristy but also traditional as the Maya still trade and haggle amongst themselves.

The road to Chichi from Lake Atitlan was arduous as the bus wound up and down steep mountains burrowing further into the western highlands. The scenery was stunning but I was reluctant to look over the edge and kept myself busy listening to amusing stories told by Joe and Janet, our American friends. We got there on a Thursday and the town was already buzzing with tourists and locals alike. The colours were incredible, radiating from traditional Mayan clothing and textiles worn by the locals but also on display for purchasing. There was something interesting to look at everywhere you turned. I couldn't get over the live chickens that women were carrying in baskets on their heads and loosely in their arms.

We spent the day wandering through the market and of course I bought a blanket, beaded jewellery and an oh-so-useful hammock (every Gringo ends up buying one and it usually ends up sitting under their beds at home)! Calvin was good at bargaining so he did it all for me - plus he speaks spanish so I just sat back and let him do all the hard work!

After a long day, we caught the bus back to Antigua. That was sadly my last day in Guatemala so we went out to Rainbow Rooms, where Beth and I used to enjoy eating out, for my last Central American meal and banana daquiri. It was raining hard with lightening and thunder crashing down on the old town - obviously saddened by the fact that I was leaving. The next day I flew to Costa Rica and in San Jose, stayed in the mankiest hotel of my whole trip. I didn't want to touch anything! It was a lonely and depressing end to my amazing 7 weeks in Central America, having the time of my life with James and Lorna and meeting weird and wonderful people, many of whom I´ll stay in touch with and hopefully meet again some day.




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Tiny sweet-tasting bananasTiny sweet-tasting bananas
Tiny sweet-tasting bananas

Like little drops of heaven!
Marimba PlayerMarimba Player
Marimba Player

The marimba originates in Guatemala


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb