Tikal Ruins


Advertisement
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Waking up at 4am was a little rough but it seemed like almost everyone in the hostel was trying to as well. As I rolled out of bed in our 8 bed dorm I saw a few people sit up trying to shake off the little sleep. We were out at the bus stop at 5am, ready to go but the bus was late so we waited for a bit. We got up to Tikal at 7ish and decided to go our own way without a guide. Imediately we passed a crocodile on the shore  and a huge family of sloths. Jeff and I got pictures beside the croc before we all headed out into the ruins. They were absolutely amazing and we climbed everyone we could. On the trails we saw many small monkeys and a few howler ones. A group of 15 was swinging their way through the jungle picking fruit which was pretty cool. After many photos and wandering we ate lunch at the top of a huge ruin (65m) then headed back to Flores. I finally bought my first souvenir which is a gift for a family member (not telling what or for who). I now wish I had bought a Mayan calendar in Belize because the ones here are not as good. There were great Maya symbol necklaces and hemp wrist bands but oh well. We got back to Flores and did some random errands before going for a swim. The night was pretty relaxing and we decided we would head to Lanquin in the morning. Our two Australian friends are heading there as well so it should be good times. Matt and I are cashing in early after a long day, with the others still socializing but will soon follow I think.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb