Tikal at dawn


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi all...

I arrived Jul 03 in Flores from Belize City. When we arrived a local by the name of Ceasar greeted us as soon as we got off the bus. He´s a local english speaking tour guide that does tours to Tikal. He had brought us to differant hotels here in Flores till we (others that arrived on the same bus) found one. I booked three nights for a room for myself with an ensuit shower for 140 Q. Later on we met up to go eat at a local restaurant. I had Sopa de frijoles with Gallo (Guatemalin) beer. After we (nine of us) bought some more Gallo and went back to the hotel to drink till the early morning ours.

We all woke up after 3am in the morning for our tour to Tikal. Ceaser arrived to pick us up (in which he was late but then again it´s Guatemala) we started while still dark our journey to Tiakl. The roads there were paved right up into Tikal itself. When we arrived we started trekking through the jungle (I was wondering about snakes) towards the ruins itself. We went up stairs to reach the top of the structure just as dawn broke. We seated ourselves on this structure and our guide Ceasar told us to listen. Suddenly the sounds of the jungle came alive, howler monkeys birds and all. It was someting to never forget.

We arrived back in Flores and we went out to have some food. I had grilled chicken with rice. Then I went back to the hotel for a shower (that´s another story in it´s self) and some sleep.

I´m looking forward to my volunteer placement in Santiago. I will keep in touch when possible.

hasta luego,
Eric

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb