I MADE IT :)


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

HEYYY!!! So I made it in yesterday BUT it's hard to find a place in the middle of the jungle that has wi-fi! I'm running on Guatemalan coffee(and man is it amazing here) and my uncle's high spirits 😊 Yesterday we didnt do much, I flew from Myrtle Beach to Fort Lauderdale...FL to Guatemala and then took a little plane into Flores, Guatemala...and then from there took about an hour ride in a taxi bus to Tikal and that ride made me feel more appreciative than ever that I live in the U.S., there were people living in houses with 7 or more people and the house was approxiamately the size of your living room, there were anorexic horses walking free along the rode, a gutter like thing along the side of the rodes that are filled with water which serve as the families washer for their clothes. IT was such a sad ride but such an eye opener. Tikal is where we stayed at the Jungle Lodge..no not just a name, it was literally (b)smack(/b) in the middle of the Jungle. We got a Junior Suite and got a roll out with a king size bed that had mosquito nets...wanna know what was imbedded in that net? A spider...like an inch long, and you wanna know what I did? Oh I checked EVERY nick and cranny of that place for more spiders and killed any I saw. I didnt get much sleep but from the sound of my uncle snoring I'm positive he got plenty 😉 I woke up at around 3 or 4 to monkeys screeching and toucans singing, it was very amazing!

Today we woke up, ate breakfast and then went on a tour of the Mayan Ruins(Pyramids). Our tour guide was amazing, and it was just the three of us so it was pretty cool. We took many many many MANY pictures and plenty of videos you guys will feel like you were right there with me 😊 We saw monkeys, some weird animal that looks like the Zuboomafu show, humongous ants, toucans...and the ruins were just incredible! Of course I was very tired as was my uncle who so graciously pulled his back a few days before the back so we have him on some serious drugs and water! hehe😊 We then took the same bus we took yesterday to a ZIPLINE! (kyle it was way better than the one we had in your backyard 😉 ). We have pics of that also so check out the videos! We do have a phone for emergencies only but I have called a few people to let them know I was here safely. Since from now on I think we are staying close to the city I will be able to upload things onto the blog more frequently. I'm gunna hit the sack now for a couple hours of sleep. BTW...we are two hours behind you guys 😊

Love ya'll and miss ya'll!
EB

P.S. I will upload pics in the AM when I can get to an Internet cafe' , the internet at the hotel is kind of slow to upload those.

Advertisement



3rd July 2010

:)
sooo glad you made it safe! cant wait to see the pics and videoos! it sounds like you are having an amazing time!
3rd July 2010

happy for you
Glad to hear you guys are having so much fun! Patrick slow down a little! Can't reach you by those phone nos. I'm back in s'VILLE now so you can call me here. No baby yet! Love, G-ma
3rd July 2010

chyna
love the tat! cant wait to see it in person. we are having so much fun here, little petty fights between the two of us but i guess that´s going to happen! check out the videos
3rd July 2010

gma
heyy! we will call you later tonight at home, you guys are two hours ahead of us. we are just laying around tody...now at a internet cafe.
3rd July 2010

o erika
Glad youre having fun! and i figured that the zipline there would be better than mine ha
4th July 2010

kyle
oh it was! the video is up now :)
5th July 2010

Sound wonderful
Glad you are having a great time. Nothing like travel to broaden the mind!!!!!!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb