Guatemala: Flores and Tikal


Advertisement
Published: November 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: TK4 18 secs
2: TK1 28 secs
3: TK2 30 secs
4: TK5 77 secs
5: TK3 26 secs
Tikal,

It’s been so long since I’ve been to Tikal and Flores in Guatemala. I think a part of me was intimidated to write about such an experience. It was probably my favorite place because of its Maya history. I imagine then how life would be for the Mayan people that lived in the middle of the jungle. Imagine to be surrounded by wilderness, hearing animal sounds all around you. I recall hearing a lot of birds and howler monkeys that are seriously loud and they will be the first thing that you hear in the morning. I guess you can get use to that kind of lifestyle, it’s just so different from the way we live now that it just mind boggling to me.
Tikal was a large and prestigious kingdom in the classic period of the Maya civilization. They grew in size and power, and at their height of reign they controlled a large area that spanned from the Caribbean Sea to the Gulf Coast. They also had established trade with the emerging power of Teotihuacan in Central Mexico; I’m guessing the Aztecs or Toltec. Tikal was a city envied by neighboring kingdoms that wished to take its place, and kingdoms like Caracol (in Belize) and Calakmul (in Mexico) attempted to overthrow Tikal. Some attempts were successful, but Tikal would reemerge to be great. The real destruction of Tikal (and the other kingdoms), a city that grew a population as big as 92,000 people, was due to a drought period that began in 810 AD. Rain ceased to fall in periods, the first time for about 9 years, then for 3 years, and later for 6 years. Imagine not having water for that long. By then many people had abandoned their cities and the Mayans moved north to the Yucatan Peninsula to start afresh and build new cities.

The Maya were a great people. They had invented the zero well before the Europeans and their yearly calendar is only off by half a minute today. They were masters in agriculture, architecture, astronomy, art, and mathematics. I recall looking at their temples in Tikal and wondered how they carried the large stones on top of one another, and how they planned their temples to face in a certain direction to see the rise and fall of the Sun. These people were very calculated and smart. The ruler of a kingdom had to represent these traits to rule such an empire. He was a leader that many believed was a resurrected god that required the praise of monuments, temples, fine jewelry, beautiful clothing and headdress’ to represent their authority. This we know today from the decipherment of the hieroglyphics that the Maya left behind in stone and book codices. They are the only indigenous civilization to have developed a written language. Despite this discovery there is still more that is being learned about the Maya from all the ruins that are being excavated in Central America, this information is probably just the tip of the iceberg.

Flores,

This city is located south of Tikal. The city is surrounded by water and the town gives you a cozy feeling being there. I had a great stay at a hostel called Amigos. They have excellent food there, and this is where I met a Spanish guy that taught me how to do cover lighters with thin yarn, using different colors of yarn you could spell out letters (I made a lighter that said GUATE, short for Guatemala), that was fun. I remember also playing soccer with some local kids there, and I couldn’t help but notice that they had Christmas decorations around the playing field, including having a Chirstmas tree already built. This was late October but the town already had the spirit of Christmas in them.

Journal entry:

It’s really early today as we are getting ready to go to Tikal to experience its wonder. I’m excited, nervous, and anxious to say the least, and just now a man arrived to pick us up to take us there. More to say when I have time, chao…At Temple IV, there is truly noting like it. Straight across from me from this height I can see the Gran Plaza as I’m looking eastward, the distance between here to there on the ground is covered below with trees. I can also see Temple III, Temple V, and the pyramid of the Lost World. Manuel is a man who is working on Temple IV for restoration and he’s been very insightful of the history of the city. He’s been telling me a lot. My favorite thing is just to not say anything at all as I’m up here, to not say a word and just taking everything in. Off to Temple V now...On my way up Temple V and I heard some howler monkeys, you can see them from up here hanging on the trees. This temple is the second tallest, and it was steep climb to get up here. Just a little while ago before coming to Temple V I did something with Charlie. She asked me if I felt energy at the smallest pyramid by the Lost World area. I said, no but then she said she would teach me how to feel the energy. I was open minded to the teaching and so we started to breathe in and out really slowly together, in sink, doing hand gestures that would give you the impression that we’re practicing tai chi. It was soothing and I definitely felt something, something spiritual and inexplicable and I thank her for that…I’m laying on a hammock ready to fall asleep as I will enjoy the night outdoors in Tikal. Despite my double protection of mosquito nets, I still have bugs on my body and now the DEET is needed. Tony is next to me on a hammock also. I’m glad.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb