I´m in Guatemala!


Advertisement
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

AURA AND TREYAURA AND TREYAURA AND TREY

Here we are at a roadside stand eating lunch. Corn Tortillas, Black Beans and Eggs...
So let´s see, where to start? Well my flight went well from Dulles to Miami. While I was waiting in miami, guess who I see? Mr. Don King himself and he waved at me 😊 I met this girl, well two ladies, Mr. Ill and Nina. Nina was from Brazil and she was really helpful and friendly and Mr. Ill was very friendly and spoke about her travels to Rio Dulce and Puerto Rico I believe it was... Hmm then I flew from Miami to Guatemala where I cruised throuhgh baggage claim, "reclamo de eqipaje" and then out into the street where many people where standing gazing at the people coming out of the airport. I saw Aura and her friend the taxi driver and we went for a ride, exchange money at the bank or banco and then went home. It´s amazing how you can manage to communicate even when your terrified because you´ve realized you know nowhere near enough spanish to speak clearly, but we worked it out little by little. I then met Miguel who has his own tourism/taxi service and is a friend of my friend Henry in the states. He was great, good personality, very little
Hotel BackpackersHotel BackpackersHotel Backpackers

This is a view of the lunch area at the hotel...
english but a safe and fun driver. Anyway they drove me, Aura and he, all the way to Rio Dulce which was 5-6 hours. I am extremely thankful for them because I would have been struggling on my own... At Hotel Backpackers it was just as awkward and uncofortable as it should be when speaking to someone who can barely understand you and vice versus. After speaking with the receptionist this guy came up and "hi, where are you from" in ENGLISH! Man what a great feeling that was and then we chatted for awhile...his name is Joshua. We then took a walk and he showed me where all the markets were, good restaurants and other odds and ends. We went to a market that was a warehouse with no air-conditioning, which I´m not suggesting I expected there to be, and when we checked out all of the employees had Walmart badges 😊 The countryside is AMAZING here and the people are extremely friendly, it hot and humid but so was Texas my entire life. Overall this has been a really good experience and I´m looking forward to making new friends and getting over to Casa Guatemala soon... Well I will post new pictures in the next couple of days along with some good info. Until then...Asta Luego


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My first showerMy first shower
My first shower

>Here is a shower where electrical wiring has been (safely) wired to the head to provide hot water. There are peices of electrical tape which keep it from electricuting the person showering...LET´S JUST SAY I HUNKERED DOWN DURING MY SHOWER...
WaterfallWaterfall
Waterfall

Speaks for itself


11th March 2008

Que alegria!
Hey, just checking travel blog and found yours. Let me tell you... you are going to have a wonderfull time there! I know it. (I was born in Guatemala) Enjoy every second, and if you don't mind I will keep reading your blog.
12th March 2008

WOW!
Can't wait for more pics. Careful with the shower's. Love ya, MOM
12th March 2008

I am glad that you made it safely!
It sounds like you had a mini adventure traveling to Rio Dulce. The area where Hotel Backpackers is located looks very beautiful; especially being on the water. Is the body of water there a lake or river? You are brave to be using that shower. I don't know if I would be comfortable enough with that wiring job. :) I just want to let you know that I am very humbled by your journey to Guatemala. You have a very good heart and have my sincerest respect. Please update your blog as time permits. Cheers, Jonathan
12th March 2008

Welcome to your new adventure!
It sounds like you had a mini adventure traveling to Rio Dulce. The area where Hotel Backpackers is located looks very beautiful; especially being on the water. Is the body of water there a lake or river? You are brave to be using that shower. I don't know if I would be comfortable enough with that wiring job. :) I just want to let you know that I am very humbled by your journey to Guatemala. You have a very good heart and have my sincerest respect. Please update your blog as time permits. Cheers, Jonathan
15th March 2008

Great!
this is so funny!! about the guy who came and spoke english to you...i knw the feeling!!! I am so glad you had a great flight!! i am excited for you....take care and keep the adventura!! nos vemos amigo, cuidate!!
15th March 2008

Glad my family could help out
Nice to hear you made it when i spoke to you the other night, hope you enjoyed your stay at my house back home in Guate, and the picas are AWESOME.....nice views. Enjoy it out there and have fun......Aura said to let her know when you leave Rio so they maybe they can come pick you up.....later....H3
17th March 2008

Glad you made it safe!!
Hey Trey, I'm glad to see that you made it there safetly! Everyone in KP Farms has been asking about how it's going there. We hope that you continue to enjoy your adventure there! We look forward to your future post and pictures!! God Bless and Happy St. Patrick's Day! Jessi

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb