Guatemala - Rio Dulce & Livingstone


Advertisement
Published: April 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

From Tikal i went to Rio Dulce .

The first second i get off the bus there someone offered me a hostel , i told him ok and he told me to go wait on the resterunt there for a boat to pick me up .
after 15 minutes i gave up and prefered to sleep in the city .
I cheaked a few hotels and i went to a cheap one , whice was i think the second worse hotel i was in (after the crappy hostel in Playa del Carmen) .
My room was full with bugs and i asked for my money back and to go to a diffrent place but the guy said he doesnt have the money and the lady with the money is not here and will only return tommarow , so i asked for other room and he gave me other room a little better but still with bugs .
now there is now point in takeing a shower before 6 in Central america becuase its soo hot you´ll lose the shower effectivity so i went to take a shower in 6:30 and when i got to the showers and open the valve there were no water going from the pipe , when i asked the guy he said , oh yea , after 4 we dont have water in the showers , if you want to take a shower go to the back and shower with the laudery bucket .
at this point i was stinking becuase i was with my backpack all day and its hot as hell in this part of Guatemala so i went to the garden and showered in the old way pureing buckets of water on my head , when occasenly the cleaning lady would come for the laundrey see me naked and say sorry sorry and go .

The only thing made me happy in Rio Dulce was that i saw fireworks show there ,
now i was looking for fireworks eversince i got to Mexico , and didnt see any , but in there it was Central America at its best .
some guy danceing with a metal thing on him full with fireworks that doesnt always work as planned and sometimes burn him a little or explode randomly on the audiance nearby .
there were people on a bridge watching the whole thing from above and they got most of the fire as it was directly on thier angle .. fun fun fun !

A day later i went to this hostel on the river a very peacefull place with lotse forgein boat oweners , this place is mostly a big dock for people to park thier yachets there and there were lotse yachets there . all of Rio Dulce is a big parking lot for boats .

After that i went to Livingstone , the best way to get there is by a boat a nice hour boat trip .
when i got to Livingstone i felt like crossing to a diffrent region , big black people welcome you with Jamaycan accent all asking all over who wants to smoke , need some weed , i got some if you need ..
some of the Streets when i was walking there i was getting high just by breathing , that how much they all smoke there ..
But after two days there i hated the place it looked too touristic and the people there were hypocrets , they only want my money , there was one time i was looking to buy beer , but not the small bottles i was looking for the big 1L bottles and i asked one of the poeple there where can i get it so he said right over here and also buy me a beer i´ll pay you back , so i said no why if you wnt a beer either give me the money or come and buy it yourself , so he comes with me and askes the saleman for a beer for me and the guy said it was 20Q and for him he got a Fanta bottle , i paid with a 100Q bill and only got back 77 ... so i got curious and asked the salesman , wheres the rest you said 20 ? so the guy coming with me said, oh you paid for my Fanta as well i´ll give you the 3Q(0.5$) later .. now i was quite pissed off and i demanded my money .. so he just grabbed his legs and run away .. fucking livingstone .



Advertisement



Tot: 0.03s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0142s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb