Weekend in Guatemala City


Advertisement
Published: October 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

This is one of the rare weekend I will be spending in Guatemala City, working. Although the ceramoteca is closed on the weekends, I have some grant proposals to work on from the comfort of my little apartment.

Last night I had the opportunity to have a great dinner at Sushi Itto with 8 of my Guatemalan friends/colleagues. It's one of the most expensive dinners possible here in Guatemala but it was great to have something other than tacos/cheese/fruit. Plus the sushi restaurant is only 4 blocks from my apt. so I didn't have to do any running around the city which was also nice.

Before dinner, I had a video chat with Alex and our friends Anna and Jerry which was great. It was like being at home for a little while! And then a 5.0 earthquake hit while I was on video chat with them. There have been 5 really small earthquakes since I arrived, and then this relatively big one yesterday evening. Everyone in the city was talking about it last night. 'Tis the season it seems. Still, it was a little scary. I've gotten used to the ground moving through the previous little earthquakes but this was pretty significant. But all is well: no real damage in the city and seems like no one got hurt which is always good.

This coming Friday-Sunday I am headed to the beach at Monterrico on the Pacific Coast, so there should be some good pix coming soon. Hoping all is well at home... back to work for me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb