Awoken by loudspeakers again on a Sunday morning


Advertisement
Published: October 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh... the tranquility of a weekend spent in Guatemala City! I was awoken yet again this morning at 7:30 a.m. (it's Sunday, people!) by loudspeakers on Ave Reforma announcing God knows what... At first I was really annoyed but then I went outside with my fresh cup of Antigua coffee to find that it was a race being run by people and their dogs! Why dogs need a loudspeaker at 7 a.m. is beyond me, but for them, OK. My annoyance dissipated...

What kind of dogs live in Guatemala City and run races at 7 a.m. on a Sunday, you might wonder? From what I could tell, the absolute most popular dog to engage in such an activity here is... the Golden Retriever. Not unlike it would be at home! There were also a lot of collies, huskies, some German shepards, some Chows, some Boxers, a few Bulldogs, and a lot of mixes. All in all, and not surprisingly, a lot of "security" type dogs. Also some yappy little brats, but not too many of those. Notably absent from the event (but no big surprise)? The pugs. The only pugs I have ever seen in Guatemala are a pair of fawn pugs that live in Antigua. Oh wait, a pug just went by, making me a total liar! OK, so one pug. I am not standing there watching the whole race from my balcony, makes me miss Pepe too much! If I had known about the race (and that it was going to wake me up anyway!), I might have borrowed a dog and run it too! I have to figure out a way to find out what all these events down Reforma that wake me up on the weekends are, and join some. I might as well if I am going to be up anyway. I would have been happy to join in this event if someone had thrown a dog, any dog!, my way...


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



18th October 2010

great race!looks like fun , but at 7 AM ??? probably the coolest part of the day .
19th October 2010

Doggie race
Yea, it's not too hot here this time of the year - generally in the 70s during the day and 50s at night, but for dogs it makes sense. Things just start really early here, apparently even on Sundays. Hence I am off to the beach this coming Fri-Sun to get some R&R!!
19th October 2010

Ceramoteca
Like it or not, 1) it's Guatemala, and 2) it HAS been re-done!! This is pretty fancy for Guatemala... Trust me you would not like my working conditions in general (bathrooms that never get cleaned and have no TP (it's bring your own TP), the moldy musty smell in the Ceramoteca, etc)!! As with anything, though, it's not so bad once you get used to it! I sure miss the UWS though, I'll tell you that much!!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb