Just for Fun


Advertisement
Published: May 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Girls Night OutGirls Night OutGirls Night Out

Winnie, Joanne, Debbie and me at Freda's.
You may be wondering, with all this soul searching are you having any fun, Cynthia?

All right. I’ll blow my own cover. I am having a blast.

I am lucky to have a full eight weeks this time to study and explore. Other students that live in mi casa have shorter time. I have become fast friends with many of them.

There was the beautiful, young Debbie from Newport beach whose rubio (blonde) hair turned heads everywhere she went. She lit up the dinner table with stories of her adventures. And she spoke really good spanish.

Joanne from Florida, was intelligent, organized and creative. Her boyfriend Henry, joined her for a week before she started spanish school. She was a master of the markets and the maps. Her experience as a nurse and doctor of chinese medicine was invaluable to little ones of Casa Jackson where she gave up many of her days.

And the valiant Winnie, who had her first legal drink here in Guatemala. Not that she turned 21. But that she could drink in a bar here because they never card anyone that looks over three. The legal age here is 18. I
Winnies first drinkWinnies first drinkWinnies first drink

Well, at least the first one she paid for in a bar.
have enjoyed her optimistic and fresh perspective and her help with my spanish and shopping.

Lovely Lela is from Hungry. She here for 16 weeks. We celebrated her 30th birthday at the school. She is generous of spirit. I enjoy our conversations even if I don’t understand her hungarian-spanish accent.

Amabilla, my teacher, invited me to a Sweet 15 party for the daughter of a friend of hers on Saturday night. Think wedding without a groom.

I was the only blonde or caucasian in the room. And almost as tall as any man there.

The music was loud. My three word sentences were hard for my tablemates to hear. Yet they were warm and gracious with me.

The hostess Madre, a classy looking woman, saw me moving to the disco music. She brought over one of her sons to dance with me. Which he did with enthusiasm. Very cute. I made him take me back to the table after about 15 minutes. Latin dancing is like aerobics!

And yes, I have seen Julio.

He ventured down from the mountains above Lake Atitilan to do some business in Antigua on Thursday. We met in
Happy Bar TenderHappy Bar TenderHappy Bar Tender

Made a great smoothie, took great pictures and smiled
the late afternoon for lunch.

It just happened to be his birthday. I was delighted he chose to celebrate it with me. He was able to stay in town until Saturday. We had several romantic meals and did lots of catching up.

Oh, and the spanish......

......I’m doing pretty well. Right now, I can only speak in the present tense with regular verbs. But it keeps me grounded in the now.

I can hold a conversation at the dinner table, shop for new clothes and say Besame! What else do I need?


Adios mi amigos,

Cynthia




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

DesayunoDesayuno
Desayuno

No meals on Sunday meant we were on our own for brunch
LelaLela
Lela

Lela celebrates her 30th birthday in Antigua
Happy GirlHappy Girl
Happy Girl

O, to be 30 again!
Winnie makes tortillasWinnie makes tortillas
Winnie makes tortillas

It's not as easy as it looks
JulioJulio
Julio

Julio on his birthday with the powerfully colored parrots
RuinsRuins
Ruins

We toured the ruins at the hotel where we met for lunch.
Smiling in RunisSmiling in Runis
Smiling in Runis

Sun, friends and happiness
Marimba bandMarimba band
Marimba band

An after dinner drink and some music
Handsome manHandsome man
Handsome man

A great Mayan smile and a huge Mayan heart
HappyHappy
Happy

Need I say more?
15 years to celebrate15 years to celebrate
15 years to celebrate

A huge, blue cake
Dancing with DadDancing with Dad
Dancing with Dad

Her first dance was with her Father and then each of her brothers (3 or 4)
Greeting the guestsGreeting the guests
Greeting the guests

Everyone toasted the birthday girl.
Amabilia and meAmabilia and me
Amabilia and me

What a wonderful friend
Johnny Walker and the PrincessJohnny Walker and the Princess
Johnny Walker and the Princess

On every table. Good thing Antigua is a walking town
Mother and DaughterMother and Daughter
Mother and Daughter

A beautiful and gracious family
Hot Conga LineHot Conga Line
Hot Conga Line

Even the young men in Guatemala enjoy dancing. American men should remember how sexy that is!


25th May 2009

What fun!
It sounds like fascinating experience, Cynthia. I love your posts. Keep 'em coming.
25th May 2009

Thanks John
I am really having the time of my life. It is fascinating and fun. But I miss all my Toastmaster friends.
26th May 2009

Living in the present...that's fun
What a wonderful time you are having in Antigua. You are GLOWING in all the pictures. I love reading your blog; thanks for sharing your experience. It’s obvious that you are enjoying every second of at the fullest there.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb