In Praise of Looking Silly


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Salsa SillinessSalsa SillinessSalsa Silliness

Dancing is not my gift, but I won't miss out on the dance of life.
As a kid, my brother teased me for every little mistake. This is the privilege of an older brother. But, I became very self-conscious.

Because I am naturally brilliant, I started school when I was only four. And like most young geniuses, I was physically awkward, a ready target for dodge ball bullies. This made me more self-conscious.

I learned to take teasing well. My ex-husband once picked me up for a date wearing a t-shirt that said “I’m with Stupid”.

But I did not enjoy feeling self-conscious.

So I stayed within the confines of those activities that I could do well: snow ski, swim, write and drive. (I said drive, not park!)

After my divorce, my attitude changed. All that looking good got me nada. I wanted to have some fun. I wanted to give up being self-conscious. I had to risk looking silly in the process.

Here in Antigua, I look very silly. I stand a head above most of the men. Yesterday, I wore a pair of shorts and caught someone pointing at my white legs.

Learning spanish I feel silly. I listen. I study. I understand. The next day in
Silly SpanishSilly SpanishSilly Spanish

I make the same silly mistakes over and over, but Amabila is patient.
class, I can’t recall a thing.

So much for being naturally brilliant.

Today, we had a salsa lesson. Gab is my gift, not dancing. I trip over my own feet walking Toby. At first, I felt very, very silly dancing. But it was delightful fun.

I am grateful. I have learned to embrace feeling silly. Being self-conscious is part of learning something new. Silly is on the way to mastery.

When I remember the loving, healing energy that runs the universe and I think of Jesus as my dancing partner, I don't feel silly. I want to join the dance of life. It would be a shame to sit it out.

Wednesday, I have a private salsa lesson. See you on the dance floor.

Adios,
Cynthia




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Silly CatsSilly Cats
Silly Cats

Yes, this cat came into the resturant on the back of it's owner and sat down on the menu. Only in Guatemala.


20th June 2009

nice site
heyza i was look aroung your homepage and will not leave again before i was saying hello it is a nice homepage you have good luck in future Hug Miracela www.iceheart-design.dk (¯`•´¯) ...`.•.,(¯`•´¯) ...(¯`•´¯).•´ ....`•.,.•´ .......I. .......I. .......I.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb