Onto the Back Nine


Advertisement
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Some of the surrounding neighborhoodSome of the surrounding neighborhoodSome of the surrounding neighborhood

Just a few shots of the houses near by
Hey Everyone,

Just this week I passed my half way mark here. Looking back I can confidently say that i have changed, physically and mentally. Physically i am definitely thinner than i was before i came. My pants aren't fitting like they did when i came and i have been tightening the belt every so often. But in my mind it's a healthy thin and i consider myself to be in the best shape of my life. Kinda hard not to be when i am on a diet of beans and rice with snacks like bananas (which is not exactly the college lifestyle diet I was used to). Mentally I have settled down a bit. My mom says i am going to be too mellow once i get home. I have been called a lot of things in my life, but i don't think i have ever been called too mellow. My only reasoning for this is this environment i am in rubbing off on me. Steve and Sheryl do a good job in creating a peaceful environment to live in and i think Guatemala as a country runs a few notches slower than i am used to. It has
My worst enemy hereMy worst enemy hereMy worst enemy here

Part of the hill i got to walk back up if i want to go to the little local tienda. trust me it's a lot steeper than it looks. Usually only 4 wheel drive cars can make it up it
taught me a little patience to say the least. Things that in the past would have driven me nuts, now i just "roll with the blows". I am even starting to think that this "mellow" attitude i have is what has allowed me to read. In the past, even if i had the time, every time i would try and read i would be constantly thinking about other things and wouldn't be able to focus on the book.
A few days ago I got invited to an Election Party on Nov. 4 hosted by the US Embassy. Luckily for me i have a contact in the embassy who extended this invitation, but they also said i could bring two guests, so I decided to bring Steve an Sheryl, which is great for the house because they could make some useful contacts for down the road.
Like i have been saying in the past, more and more of my little group is starting to diminish. The group of 8 boys i had before is now down to 5, which is great and i am happy about, but at the same time it does create a little bit of a lonesome feeling. The house, by coincidence i think, is heavily outnumbered by girls, and not to mention there are only two male workers (myself included) and about 10 female workers. All the more reason to treat the few boys like "real boys" as much as possible.
A lot of my co-workers who know that i am on the home stretch of my time here ask me if i enjoy living in Guatemala and if i am going to come back. My answer is that I greatly cherish this experience i have had so far and continue will until my return. But 6 months of a foreign country i think will be enough for me. I would obviously consider returning for a visit in the future, but never again on a long term or permanent basis. I don't want you to get me wrong, i really do enjoy being here, but simply being away from what you know for so long takes a toll.
Steve is supposed to get back in the middle of next week, which means i can have some much needed time off to go travel. I think i have settled upon visiting El Salvador, which is known to be
The viewThe viewThe view

this scene is available within one hundred feet of the house
a nice beach front country. I think i might just take a shuttle bus there and find some little hostel to stay in for a weekend. I am really looking forward to it.

Until Next Time,
Brennan




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Real  physical laborReal  physical labor
Real physical labor

These guys haul all these sticks to sell for firewood, etc. I have seen women in the past doing this as well but balancing it all on top of their heads


14th October 2008

Great Job
Hi Brennan, Holy Cow. I could never do what you are doing, let alone do it for such a long period of time. I think after 1 week I'd be crying for my mom and I'm in my 40's. I'm glad that you met Gwyn and you are going to the Election Party with her. It's in your gene's, you've got to be involved even if it's from a third World Country. Keep up the good work, Kari

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb