Return To Antigua


Advertisement
Published: October 7th 2002
Edit Blog Post

My friends from Xela and I went to Antigua for the weekend. For some this would be but a brief rest from the near constant rain of Xela, for others this would possibly be the search for a new home, for me a new phase of my travels, the journey to Tikal and return to Los Angeles. I have just 3 weeks left before I fly on to Hawaii.

Antigua has changed in the three weeks since I left, not in any major way, but there are many fewer tourists and students, this must be the depths of the low season. Clubs and bars that were busy even on a Monday or Tuesday are empty, I'm stopped more often in the streets by people extolling the virtues of one Spanish School or another. On the flip side, accommodation is cheap and plentiful.

The party to Antigua included, three Danes (Christian, Lizette and Maikn), two Canadians (Pete and Cam), a French journalist (Gaelle) and me. A healthy mix of nationalities, all bona fide party people. Back to the Posada Ruiz Dos for two nights, partying, drinking and generally hanging out. In Posada Ruiz Dos, I met by chance with Ripan who had accompanied me to Copan Ruinas, Honduras - he had managed to return to Antigua with little difficulty despite his lack of Spanish.

I walked up to the Cerro de la Cruz with Lizette and Christian, relaxed and talked, took photos. The Cerro de la Cruz is a small hill overlooking the city with a cross, affording great photos and views. The Antigua tourist police accompany tourists daily to the viewpoint, without them a few years ago many robberies took place, only twenty minutes from the perceived security of the city.

Sunday, Christian, Lizette, Pete and Cam returned to Xela. Hopefully the two days of sunshine has reminded them of summer and will keep them going until they start travelling in a few weeks. More sad goodbyes - this time there will be no surprise return visits, a proper goodbye.

Gaelle, Maikn and I moved hotel, somewhere that sleep is a probability not only a possibility, Posada Refugio, sounded appropriate, and over the last few nights I have slept well. Monday I met up with Sharon, she had returned from a wedding in Scotland and is travelling on with me to Tikal. So for Monday and Tuesday this week I have worked on my computer in the cafes of Antigua, Gaelle has been working on her article "Mayans Sin Tierra" - (Mayans Without Land) - it has been nice having company whilst working.

Tomorrow (Wednesday 9th October 2002) we head out to Tikal, via Coban and Rio Dulce. I hope that the Tikal lives up to my expectations, it was filmed in the "Return of the Jedi" and "Tomb Raider the Movie", so it must be good.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb