10 Days In Antigua


Advertisement
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Welcome To AntiguaWelcome To AntiguaWelcome To Antigua

ThereĀ“s always a Joe
I know I could run off important facts and statistics about Antigua and the Guatemalan lifestyle, upload beautiful postcard-photos, but that's why there's Google. Plus, honestly, I never can remember all those facts and statistics. What I do remember when I travel are the people I meet, the smiles and connections, comforts/discomforts, nostalgia, sounds, smells, the things that give me goose bumps, the things that make my stomach turn, my skin crawl, or the people or places that make my heart beat faster.


The key to my room
(aka Joe never dies)

Upon arriving I am given the key to my room. It's not the key i'll remember, but rather, the keychain. An exotic insect preserved in glass which I'm sure any 5 year old boy would find very cool. For me, it's creepy, and I'm really not happy with keeping it in my pocket. Yes I know it's dead but at one point it was crawling around happily upon the earth and my imagination visualizes that he comes alive in my pocket or when I'm not looking and will try to tickle me with his little antennas. So here's the thing, my logical side has the simple
Tuk-tukTuk-tukTuk-tuk

Named because of the sounds of their engine, guarantees a speedy and bumpy transport, with full exposure to air-pollution and absolutely no accident protection
answer in about 2 seconds, switch the keychain. But again logic loses, gut wins. I decide to keep it on. The one thing that needs to stay with me can be a reminder to respect other cultures, to accept differences, to be comfortable with not being comfortable. to willingly NOT plan, organize or control (so much) of my life, a mentality that I quickly jump back into in the states. So in the wise words of Diego the surfer, or ancient Hawaiian beliefs... just FLOW.
















What I will remember:

* The kindness and sincerity of my host family, Barbara and Jorge, and their 5 year old son Carlos who would construct little cities out of colorful leggos outside my door everyday

* The butter that sits out on the table is bright orange and never melts

* Rebecca's solution to life's problems can all be solved with chocolate

* Every person I have met from Holland is beautiful inside and out

* Taking a "tuk tuk" home at 2am was more exciting than any roller coaster i have been on

* The charming cobblestone roads make it close to impossible to wear anything but sneakers

* Salsa dancing with the local women is way more fun (and safe) than dancing with the local boys

* Dreadlocks on a stray dog

* The smell of the air on my pillow case that was hung dry that afternoon

* The beggar boy from the town of Santiago, whose skin had begun falling off from what I think was scabies.... clinging on to me as my boat pulls away from the dock begging me for one Quetzale. He is the same age as my niece.






Advertisement



14th April 2006

Your Mom told me I'd cry
I'm sitting here crying and I'm not sure why. I know that I am in awe of all you are writing and doing in your travels. Your descriptions are so beautiful and touching. I'm sorry it took me so long to start reading your entries (4/14/06). Now I have lots of catching up to do and I could just spend the rest of the day doing that! I've been telling your Mom for ages that you are my hero, Sherry, and reading your entries confirms it.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.029s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb