Visiting Lex in Guatemala-Day 1


Advertisement
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alexis is living in Guatemala for a few months studing spanish, so of course I had to go visit. What kind of a friend would I be if I didn't go? Anyway, on my layover in Miami, I noticed that no one waiting in my departure lounge was speaking English-no one, and we were still in the states! I soon realized that my old high school and college spanish was not coming back as quickly as I would have liked. On the plane, I think I was the only American, or at least the only English speaker. All of the flight attendants immediately spoke Spanish to everyone. On most of my other flights, they kind of break you in to the language change, but not on this one. It was good practice for me though. I met a nice man who lives in Guatemala City, and he helped me practice my Spanish. It was one of those mentally draining conversations when you have to translate everything in your head, so reaction time is a little slow. I was at least proud that I could kind of converse slowly with him though. I don't know what happened to me as we began our descent, but I felt like I was going to be sick. I have never had any kind of car or air sickness before, but in my opinion, it was just my body giving me a hint of what I was in for in Guatemala. I think I felt nauseated at least half to 3/4 of the time that I spent in the country. I was really glad that Lex came to greet me because it was a circus outside of the airport(not to mention I was on the verge of vomiting). After the half hour zig zagging ride through the mountains, we arrived at Alexis's apartment. It was adorable with a great courtyard in the middle. We didn't do much that evening because I was feeling awful, but it was great to finally be there. The next morning I was feeling much better, and we set out to explore the town. It was great having my own little tour guide. We hiked up the hill on the edge of town to the cross. From there you have a great view of the whole town. After that, we walked around in the market, and then just relaxed and enjoyed having nothing to do.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb