Grenadines, Grenada, and Tobago


Advertisement
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


We spent most of June in the Grenadines. We visited Bequia, Mustique, Canouan, Mayreau, Tobago Cays, Petit St. Vincent, and Union Island. While sailing in the Grenadines we started traveling with several other boats from island to island. At one time we had as many as 8 boats traveling together. It was great fun and we made a lot of new friends.

Toward the end of June we made our way further south to Carriacou and Grenada in preparation for hurricane season. After a couple of weeks in Grenada we decided to go to Tobago with Tom & Rose of s/v Sojourn and Cheryl and Griff of s/v Mystic Journey. For my nonsailing friends the abbreviation s/v just stands for sailing vessel and is typically placed in front of the name of a sailboat. As cruisers we are often known by the name of our boat rather than our real names. Boat names are just easier to remember. In Tobago we enjoyed snorkeling, walks ashore, and excellent fishing. The walks ashore were absolutely beautiful. We walked to a waterfall in Parlatuvier and cooled off by going swimming. In Charlottesville we saw trees laden with avocados and mangos and other fruit as we walked. Now that it is rainy season, we often are rained on when we walk which is fine since we are usually hot anyway.

We are back in Grenada now which is one of my favorite places. One of the highlights of our Grenada stay this time was the hike to Seven Falls with 8 other cruisers. It was a muddy, steep hike but well worth the effort. Yesterday we hiked with the Grenada Hash House Harriers, a zany group of people who love difficult hikes. They hike every other Saturday afternoon. At one time yesterday I was on all fours just trying to make it up a steep mountain without sliding backward and taking out all my fellow hikers that were behind me! Later it felt good to take off my hiking shoes and get the mud off me and my shoes while sitting on a rock in a cool mountain stream.

We plan to stay in Grenada at least two more weeks. Next we will go to Trinidad. I'll fly from there to Georgia for a family reunion while Jimmy stays with the boat and gets boat projects completed. Just in case you think
Cricket match in GrenadaCricket match in GrenadaCricket match in Grenada

We watched Australia play the West Indies team at the National Stadium. We went with 5 other cruisers. That's me on the left with Dave & Donna from s/v Magic next to me and Tom from s/v Sojourn in the foreground. On the second row is Dave and Michelle from s/v Daniell Storey.
I am shirking all the work you will be happy to know that I am in the middle of a varnishing project at the moment. I am glad there are people who like to work with wood. I am not one of them. I am staying in Georgia about 10 days. I'll fly back to Trinidad and hopefully we can leave Trinidad right away and return to Grenada for a short visit. We will then sail to Venezuela and plan to be in Curacao by Thanksgiving.

Greetings to everyone. Take care.

Donna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb