my salvadoran family


Advertisement
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

these photos are mostly for my mom (my real one and only mama), who wants to see the family that i was living with for 3 months in El Salvador. Here they are. in all thier beauty and glory. amazing amazing warm incredible human beings. I knew i was in the right place because we laughed ALL THE TIME. they liked to poke a little healthy fun at thier gringita, which was perfect. anyhoo, mom, here they are.

also, notice the soup. that is the marescado, the traditional salvadoran sea food soup. it is delicious. as a ¨hasta luego¨ celebration we went to the ocean and ate at a restaurant and I figured i should order the marescada, cuz its traditional and all. notice all of the little shelled exoskeleton style creatures that are floating around in that soup. for a mostly-vegetarian (less and less so with every passing day) who is not skilled at opening little shelled exoskeleton style creatures, it was an adventure. And there they were, so honored to treat me to a marescada, and so proud of thier nation´s culinary delight, staring at me while i äte¨ it, asking me if i liked it, if i liked it. And i, fumbling and splashing around, trying to suck the meat out of the little exoskeletons.




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb