still in D.R.


Advertisement
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So things are still going well with el cuerpo de paz! I´ve started spanish classes which has been a little difficult since Dominican spanish is WAY different than spanish I´m used to learning. It´s basically like being thrown into the deep end of the pool, but I´m doing okay. I´m a few levels above where I need to be in order to become a Peace Corps Volunteer, so as long as I stay on top of everything I should be good to go. The bad thing is I´m learning Domincan phrases like ¨tigere¨ and ¨te fuñiste¨which won´t do me any good in Honduras, but it´s never a bad thing to learn about another culture.

I get destroyed in dominoes on a nightly basis by the men in the community, including 12 year old kids, but I´m hoping that just adds to my charm. I was really hoping to take a little break from American pop-culture only to realize that apparently even the D.R. needed to have up to date news on Michael Jackson. Did his daughter really speak at his funeral??

As for Honduras, things are still up in the air. I´m assuming the U.S. is getting the same news as down here. There was at least one death at the airport when the ex-Honduran president Zelaya tried to land his plane and violence for the most part has only been in some parts of the capital Tegucigalpa, where I won´t even be anyway. So it´s not really much of a security concern, but obviously much more of a political one. The question is whether or not the U.S. will recognize the new government, which they said they won´t, however there have been talks of moving up the election dates which where originally scheduled for November. That was basically the deal behind all of this: Honduran presidents can only serve 1 term of 4 years, so Zelaya wanted to change the Constitution regardless of it´s denial by Congress and the Supreme Court. So the Congress had the military kick him out. BUT if Honduras moves up it´s election date and a new president is legally and democratically elected, then that´s simply water under the bridge.

So we´ll see what happens, but here I remain in la Republica Dominicana until at least the 22nd.

Hope things are going well with everybody else!

Advertisement



8th July 2009

Keep on keepin' on, Phus
Sounds like you're jumping right in, just as you would do. Enjoy the experience, keep on writing it down, and all the best to you, Joseph. You're doing great. :)
8th July 2009

MJ's Funeral
So happy to see you are back at it.... and yes Paris Jackson (who knew) said a few words at her father's funeral...sometimes the truth is stranger than fiction. Missing you from Cape Cod- stay safe and well - Adios - 19 Elinor Lane
8th July 2009

be safe
Carumba!! Wow!! Yes we are getting the same news. The situation there seems unsettled to say the least. Be safe and yes the daughter did speak and cry... a big medis show and I thought it was a show not a funeral..glad it's over finally! Love, Mrs. G.
8th July 2009

Great to hear from you!
Dear Joseph, The Dom. Rep. sounds wonderful - dominoes and all! Please tell your host family I send them my sincere thanks for their kind care of you. Many, many people on the Cape continue to ask for you and celebrate your new adventure. Please keep yourself safe and healthy and know you are in our prayers every day. We miss you and love you! Mom and Dad XXX OOO
8th July 2009

thinking of you!
Love the updates and think of you all the time. Don't know about the MJ question:) love, bridget
9th July 2009

HI
Sounds like you're doing well. Keep it up and be safe. S Joan

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb