Beginning Days in the DR!


Advertisement
Published: August 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

La VegaLa VegaLa Vega

view from Casa Club
The Dominican Republic has been absolutely amazing so far! It's gorgeous here! It's quite hot however and humid but the wind makes up for it as do the palm trees and delicious food. I met a few friends on the plane which was so relaxing knowing that I wasn't by myself! The other Americans in my group are so friendly! Plus the Dominicans here are so nice and friendly, I love it. They care a lot about relationships between friends and family so there are constantly people in my house and something is always going on whether it's a meal, talking, or just relaxing watching TV. My family is really affectionate and I couldn't have asked for a better one! They bought me a cake for my birthday which they covered in condensed milk...absolutely delicious. They also sang to me and everything. They have already invited me to go to a bar and dancing this Saturday at a private party of some sort. They're going to teach me to dance! They listen to a lot of merengue, bachata, salsa, and reggaeton, all of which I can barely distinguish apart from one another. But my room is big and very comfortable! They're isn't any AC but I do have a fan on the ceiling and it get fairly cool at night. I have keys to all my closets and desk drawers which is quite convenient. I also have hot showers too which I'm very thankful for. So far I've been going to seminars and participating in orientation stuff with CIEE (my program) and we don't start classes until next Thursday. In fact we don't even register until Monday. I've gone into the bigger city part and the plaza where I bought some gorgeous shoes tonight!! They're very sparkly with heels (not too tall!) and I will surely take a picture of them soon! Very cute or "que chulo" as they say here...at least I think that's what they say. But I love it here so far! I do miss home of course but I highly recommend visits at some point : )

Hasta luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

The daughers in my familyThe daughers in my family
The daughers in my family

left: Jenni; right:Pilar
CIEE group at PUCMMCIEE group at PUCMM
CIEE group at PUCMM

PUCMM = Pontificia Universidad Catolica Madre y Maestra (my university)
SantiagoSantiago
Santiago

view from the monumento a los heroes
CIEE group on the Monumento a los heroesCIEE group on the Monumento a los heroes
CIEE group on the Monumento a los heroes

i took a picture of them taking a picture of Santiago : )
CIEE group at the Monumento a los heroesCIEE group at the Monumento a los heroes
CIEE group at the Monumento a los heroes

from left to right: me, Leo, Ben, Emily, Luana, Peter, Charise, Kathryn
SantiagoSantiago
Santiago

view from the monumento a los heroes


21st August 2009

Wonderful Place Laura
Wow, what a place Laura. I can't wait to visit. We miss you here. Your host family look awesome. This is so exciting for you. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb