Arrival in Cuba


Advertisement
Cuba's flag
Central America Caribbean » Cuba » Oeste » Matanzas
October 11th 2010
Published: October 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello to All,

I am at my friend Paco's house and I am taking a quick moment to send this out. My brother-in-law Paul has agreed to post things for us on the blog. However, it does sound like we will be given our own email address at Seminary and we might even have access to the internet. We shall see. Whatever e- connections we have, they will most likely not support photos but we should be able to send written reports. We will do our best to paint pictures with words.

We are all doing great. We arrived without a problem, minus two missing bags that we were able to retrieve today. We have a wonderful house on the seminary campus. It even has hot shower, a rarity in Cuba. Joy screamed when she discovered it. The community here has welcomed us with open arms and has basically taken turns feeding us for the last two days. This morning we went to the worship at First Baptist Church in Matanzas, our church for these next months, and were again welcomed in that wonderfully Cuban way. Joy and Leigh even went to the children's school where nobody spoke Spanish. We are healthy, safe and excited about our new life here. We hope to share more soon.

Love,
Mark

Advertisement



11th October 2010

I Share Your Excitement
Mark, Kiren, Joy and Leigh, How happy I am to hear of your arrival. I can now visualize where you are, and the good people whom you will be spending time with. Thank you for your posts. Please give a special hello to Joy and Leigh. (I, too, would have been so pleased with the hot water!) I will continue to pray for you all. Claudia
11th October 2010

Visitors from Atlanta
So happy to hear from you in Matanzas! This week, I think, a delegation from our church, Trinity Presbyterian, is going to Matanzas with person-power, medicines, and money. Two clergy are Leah Horton and David Burns. You will relate easily and happily especially to David and to Leah's husband, Bill, an orthopedic surgeon whose hands have told him no more surgery. I've told David to look for you! (He was formerly a Baptist and recognized the Siler name.)
12th October 2010

Finally found you
Hello Dr Sigmon, I kept on asking when were you going to Guatemala? You did not answered the 100 emails I sent u, and Heather said you were still at MAHEC but planning on going to Cuba????? Finally, LaDene just told me that you WENT to El Hospitalito!! How did I missed all the fun? Anyway, my heart was beating so hard with exciment reading your blog. You don't know how happy it made me to know that you went!!!!! I hope some others will follow. Please write me an email, I feel cheated that I was not aware of your hospitalito adventure. Much love, what a great adventure for your whole family. Liliana

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb