Bocas to Costa Rica


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

At last I dragged myself away from the party town of Bocas and headed to Costa Rica. Kevin the Dutch guy I met decided to stay on in Panama so I left on my own this morning. It was an easy jouney consisting of a 40 minute boat ride back tot he mainland through the old canals that the Banana workers used years ago, really scenic with tropical forest surrounding both side and cows wading through the water.

A quick taxi ride which I shared with a nice American family living in Costa Rica who were nice enough to help me cross the border, it wasnt too difficult though. The strangest part was crossing an old wooden 100 year old bridge which is just wide enough for a truck to cross, we had to walk across it with a truck following us, really strange but fun all the same.

Arriving on the otherside in Sixola was a suprise, nothing but taxis and Lorrys everywhere. I found the bus station with the help of some locals but I was being pestered too much and just felt uneasy about pickpockets. No buses for 2 hours, I stood around for 20 minutes and didnt feel comfortable so just paid $30 for a taxi ride to Puerto Veigo. Not seen too much of it yet but it seems like a small surfing town. Lots of people about, I'll be staying here for a couple of nights though as I want to catch the football on telly ha.

Still having trouble uploading pictures too. Sorry

p.s. My foot is looking 10x better, doesnt hurt anymore either so Im back to full strength.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb