Into Costa Rica and My Birthday


Advertisement
Published: January 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Golfito and a MagnumGolfito and a MagnumGolfito and a Magnum

3 beers in one
Hey Hey, so we got lucky and the border crossing that is said to be 2 to 3 hours of hell took us all of 25 minutes. It was a sketchy place with creepy men so I am glad it was quick. We jumped on a bus to Golfito and stayed there for the night with a magnum of the local beer and then hit the ferry the next morning to Puerto Jiminez on the Penninsula de Osa. Here we toured and biked 12 kilometers over to the side with the 14 km beach and the nice resorts and Ross made a reservation at Playa Preciosa Nature Lodge for my birthday! It was the best birthday ever, he absolutely spoiled me and we had the best 24 hours a girl could ask for. However, we got off to a rough start as I was not feeling to great throughout the night and then when we went to leave our hotel, the little old spanish lady can running out yelling in spanish that we had not paid her, which we most certainarly had the day before, but she insisted that we did not and we insisted we did, she was very old and I dont think she recognized us, or forgot, but after an hour argument in 2 different languages, we agreed to compromise and give her half the money to let us go. Then we were off to our garden cabin named TOUCAN that over looked the beach and we layed in the sun (shade for some of us) and drank beer, napped, read, other fun things, and then went back and got ready for dinner and drank a bottle of wine. We strolled down the beach at sunset to the Pearl of the Osa Resort to have the most amazing candle lit meal I have ever tasted. They have avocado and Palm Heart salads which I had no idea I loved palm hearts until now, and I had a tropical mango chutney on my grilled mahi mahi and coconut rice and then we had yet another bottle of wine. I politley asked the 4 retirees next to us to take our picture and they found out it was my birthday and absolutely insisted we all had shots of the best tequila this man could buy me so shooters we did, with birthday singing, kisses from old men, a spilled drink in my lap and then they invited us up to their resort gathering for more. We went up to a huge balcony round table that sat about 40, where it was also another ladies birthday and threw me in for another round of singing and we had desserts and cake and played a little game. When it was time for more tequila, Ross and I snuck out and headed back to our cabin for some relaxing. We set the alarm and got up at 5:30 am and went out the beach in our PJs and watched the most beautiful sunrise I have ever seen (might be the only one I have ever seen I dont think I have ever been up that early). Complete with delicious breakfast in the tree tops before headed ing back to town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb