Finally arrived!!!


Advertisement
Published: October 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After years of travel plans in the making...I´ve finally landed in my first of many destinations...San Jose, Costa Rica. You may think of lush jungles and beautiful beaches when you think of Costa Rica, but San Jose is far from it. Here it´s big, smoggy, busy, crowded, and basically downright disgusting. My flight was good, save the two crazy old women beside me who kept arguing that Costa Rica was an island (they´re gonna get hella lost). I landed, found my shuttle, and was swept into the chaos of San Jose to my hostel, which turns out to be in a pretty run down part of town (at least it´s 4 blocks from downtown)...I guess this is why it´s only costing me $8 a night. Anyways, I´ll be outta here in the morning, heading to Jaco on the Pacific coast, which apparently has the best waves in Costa Rica. I think I´ll take a few surf lessons (on the noob waves of course), and basically just relax with some beer on the beach. Eventually I´ll get going on the cloudforests, river rafting, volcano climbs and whatnot, but I think I´ll spend my first few days just unwinding by the water.

What lacks in hockey coverage, as sad as it is, is made up by intense soccer coverage. Got to watch two matches today, one of which I watched in a bar and it was crazy. They sure love their football.

Anyways, I suppose I´ll update whenever I next have internet. And I´ll get some pictures up here as soon as I´m somewhere that is worthy of taking a picture (ie I don´t get prostitutes, drug dealers or over-flowing sewers in my shot). On that note,

Adios!

Advertisement



12th October 2006

I'm jealous kiddo! gah! Even if it's mildly disgusting and your only company wis bickering old womem! haha....hope you have a good time hun, I look forward to seeing pictures!
12th October 2006

Hi Ian
Ian, it's the start of your adventure! Have a great day heading for Jaco and the surf. DoB and Jazz say hi. Love, MoB.
12th October 2006

sounds like you're off to a good start! have a blast surfing!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb