Day one-three


Advertisement
Published: March 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


There was so much preparation for this trip. Needed water proof bags, synthetic clothing, hiking shoes, rain jacket, memory cards, etc. We hopped on the plane and took off at 1230 in the morning the following day. My day was approximately 20 kg and I knew it would lighten up when I snack on all the cliff bars I brought! The flight was about 9 hours, which included our flight from Guatemala to Costa Rica. Guatemala looks so lush and I cannot wait to visit there some day! The mountains are breathtaking and it is so green.

When we got to Qerc, which is south east of San Jose, we ventured to the trout farm. This what should be for an average person 20 minute hike took us 2-3 hours of appreciating such beauty and complex associations of organisms. There were tank bromeliads in the tree and we immediately found a Quetzal! There was a sensory overload of life competing for light. Lichen and moss grew together. We found so much foliose and crustecia. Linias and vines hung from the trees. We found root nodule symbiosis.

I was exhausted due to lack of sleep. After three finals and midterms and hopping on a plane, I was in much need of rest. I only got two hours on the way to Costa Rica. While running on fumes, I discovered this trip was going to be more of a challenge then I anticipated. I had altitude sickness starting from the plane ride mixed with food poisoning. I had a headache and dehydration yet pushed on through our hike and meal. Eventually I got too fatigue and was in so much pain, I headed back early. I took off my boots to discover the sweat from my socks had left my feet raw. Also my boots were too tight. The REI guy said that was a good thing when i bought them. :-p The skin was absolutely white (like an egg shell) and wrinkly. I was wondering if this was some visus giving me all these symptoms. Luckily, I woke up the next day feeling better than ever. This was perfect because now I can eat all the wonderful food and have so much more energy when I remember how weak I was. I walked to the restroom with a handful of clothes. I waved at my professors good morning (guy ones) only to realize my hot pink leopard thong was in my hand. You can take the model out of the photoshoots, but never the decider out of a woman I guess. I was ready to go! I had my iPad tucked away in it's waterproof case, video and digital cameras, cliff bars, water, bug spray and travel journal. Surprisingly, misquiotoes are not much of an issue. No one has any bites. The moths at night are so diverse and are suppose to be a real visual treat. They can be found in all colors of the spectrum and crazy patterns.

The Qerc facility is in a mundane cloud forest. This means lots of life! It is not as humid as we were anticipating. In fact, it feels a lot like San Diego. The synthetic clothing works wonders. It's is pleasantly breezy and freezing at night.

The people are friendly, minimalists and down to earth. They are not obsessed with fashion it seems like America is. Their mart for the community is much like a Walmart, but one you would find run down in LA. They feed us like kings. They have the freshest most extrodinary fresh squeezed blackberry juice you will ever taste. Their beef was nicely marbleized and tender which put any five star restaurant to the test. Their desserts were amazing! Caramelized bananas on vanilla ice-cream is heavenly. It reminds me of Cuban food. On our morning hike of day three we found much life. We went on about a three mile hike. Tree ferns, calililies, frutilose, fungus, norpos, asteracies, teridophytes, mountain gem humming bird, d swift, ruddy tree runner, talianzias, and woodpeckers were just a small bit of all the life we experienced. We laughed at those who think Cowls mountain is a hike (1500 ft) compared to the 7000-12000 we were experiencing.

The evening of day three, we set up Sherman traps. Hopefully we got rodents and reptiles! We are enjoying the indoor luxeries of Qerc. On Tuesday, we are off to the Oso penencila. This is where man versus wild was filmed. It can be found on YouTube if you want to see our experience! Then we head out to the beaches for our marine lab. We will be snorkeling in some of the most delicate of ecosystems. You cannot wear sunscreen for fear of throwing off the balance. The team is playing some card game that leaves me confused. The people on the trip are absolutely wonderful company.

This has been a very spiritual experience. After two months of horrible luck where anything bad that can happen, did happen, this trip is bringing me inner serenity. Two of my classes will end, meaning I can focus on my social life, making money and lsat again! Wait till you see the pictures and video. 😉

Advertisement



7th March 2011

This was written on my iPad so excuse all the errors.

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb