In San Jose Costa Rica!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Published: January 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It's great to actually be in Costa Rica! It's partly cloudy, breezy and I would guess about 72 degrees! Very pleasant! What a refief from the cold weather back home!

I wonder if how often people take trips without glitches!!!! We've had our share with ourflights down here. It started at Dulles airport where the ticket agent didn't have a record of our seats on the plane. They assigned us less desirable seats after some discussion and sharing of the frustration Margie and I felt that there had been a breakdown in communication. We had a very nice surprise when we boarded the plane as Taca had given us seats in first class! My first time flying first class was nice! Very comfortable seats and more room!

Both flights were fine. We changed planes in San Salvador, El Salvador. Had an hour lay-over so just saw the airport. Then we were on our way to CR, ladning at the airport closest to San Jose in Allejuela. The warm semi-humid weather felt wonderful the moment I felt it! Ahhhhh!

Our next glitch was with trying to find the guest house we had reservations at. I should back up to say that our ride from the airport to the guest house was provided by a new friend of Margie, Charlene and her husband Gerardo. He was wonderful while he drove us around for over an hour looking for this house. You see they don't have addresses or vary many street signs in Costa Rica. Well when we finally found the house we were told that they were full and didn't have room for us. Margie & I had been communicating with the owner for several months and had sent him our arrival date, which he confirmed he had received. But in the last few days his wife had told a guest she could stay longer which meant there was not room for us. So we ended up spending the night with Charlene & Gerardo. Thank goodness they are such good and generous people. They already had a houseful with Gerardo's two duaghters there during school vacation plus an older couple who arte friends that had recently been in a car accident and needed Charlene's help. But it's all working out fine and we can move into our rooms today.


More later about CR. I really haven't seen much yet......

Ciao,
Barb

Advertisement



11th January 2011

Have fun
Hi Barb, sorry you are missing us so much..LOL I will try to keep up with you on your blogs. Sounds exciting and we will miss you until you return. Always, Ann
11th January 2011

Are you settling in yet?
That is too bad about your travel woes although I guess it could have been worse! But still........... I am wondering if you got into the guest house you arranged for yet. It's snowing here. Love you! me
18th January 2011

finally catching up on comments!
yes our travel woes surely could have been worse. And you already know we did get into Nitzi's house and I've moved from the first shared room to my own room on the other side of the house...soon to move again to Atenas!
18th January 2011

Sorry I'm so behind in replying to comments!
No problem at all Nina that I found out from you about Jeff's promotion! It was exciting news no matter who told me! Hmm...33 is tropical. I've heard more recently that you've had some temps in the 50's. That's not bad at all for January!
18th January 2011

behind on replying to comments!
Hi Ann! Thanks for your comment! I can't say honestly that I've missed Central Oregon or even thought a lot about my friends and family there. Been too busy seeing things, changing the room I'm staying in and soon will be a move to Atenas! Say hi to the group and take care as always! Barb

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb