Stoppover in San Jose


Advertisement
Published: March 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

L&F to Laguna de Apoyo


Kendrick wasn't feeling well enough to try the overnight volcano hike on tuesday. We hiked up a bit of the Quetzal Trail, in the rain, but we didn't see any Quetzals. It was still a very nice hike.

Wednesday Kendrick turned to me and said he had a crazy proposition for me. In short, we set out for Barú around 1130. The hike was a killer. We made it up in about 5 hours and stayed on top for about an hour and a half, starting down while the sunset was in its final stages. The super bright half moon stayed pretty much overhead and we didn't need our flashlights until about half way down. We were so tired toward the end. A group of guys from McGill University that we met at the top gave us a ride from the end of the trail to close to back to our hostel, we walked the rest of the way and returned at midnight. I left yesterday morning at 630, got the 830 bus from David to San José.

I stayed last night in Gaudy's Hostel and I leave today at 1230 for Managua. I slept too late to catch
Little Kitten FallsLittle Kitten FallsLittle Kitten Falls

During our treasure hunt
the early buses this morning. I had a terrible sleep after the volcano and I was absolutely drained last night. I'll be volunteering for the next week at FUNDECI/GAIA at Laguna de Apoyo, Nicaragua. It's a research station--http://www.gaianicaragua.org/.

It was an interesting experience leaving Kendrick and setting out alone for the final 2 weeks of my trip. We are both ready for it and both excited for our forthcoming adventures.

The pictures I've put up are from Lost and Found and Volcán Barú.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Mama ScorpionMama Scorpion
Mama Scorpion

This was quite the sight when we all came back to the volunteer house a little tipsy.
Pelea de GalloPelea de Gallo
Pelea de Gallo

Gabriel took us to a cock fight in Gualaca.
At the Cock Fight BarAt the Cock Fight Bar
At the Cock Fight Bar

To my left, Jordan and Duncan
SunsetSunset
Sunset

El puesto del sol atrás Volcán Barú
Last NightLast Night
Last Night

Gabriel
Summit!Summit!
Summit!

3,475 meters above sea level.
Crater behind meCrater behind me
Crater behind me

We were the highest people in Panamá for a while.
The CloudsThe Clouds
The Clouds

Were amazing
El Puesto del SolEl Puesto del Sol
El Puesto del Sol

The last picture from the top


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb