Sorry again Mum


Advertisement
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi

Well the morning after I last updated (which feels like ages ago now) I was going Zip-lining in the rainforest. We left the hotel just after breakfast and headed out to the zip lining site. Most of the group (all apart from 2 were doing the zip lining. We all got harnessed up and walked up the hill to the first platform. Now these were not like the zip lines that are in playgrounds when you are a kid. These are a few hundred metres long (the longest was 600m) and apparently about 400 metres in the air. I was the first to zip the first line and it definitely the best zip line I have ever done. We did a few of these, one in particular was extraordinarily long and quite steep so got some good speed up. Then half way through the course there was a "tarzan swing" where they took me up to a platform hooked me to a cable, then whilst everyone else fell face first I tried falling backwards off the platform, which was a different sensation then jumping forward of platforms but I don´t think it was as much fun, but was still good. We then had a few more zip lines to finish off before we got back to the welcome centre and did a Canopy walkways with suspension bridges and walks through the rainforest, which to be honest after the zip line was a bit of an anti climax.

That afternoon I discovered that apart from zipping through the trees there is not a whole lot to do in Monteverde so I spent the afternoon wondering through the town and reading. That night we all hung out in the Americans room (after we were kicked in from making too much noise outside) and had a few drinks, the Americans more then the others (I don´t think they slept much that night)

The next morning we were heading to La Fortuna. About 8 of the group were horseriding part of the way but after my last trip on a horse I decided it probably wasn´t for me and opted for the jeep to the lake, then Catamaran (very small Catamaran) where it was quite rough and water started flying inside until the staff shut the door though they got soaked in the process. Then it was a short private bus ride to the hotel. That afternoon I discovered there was slightly more to do in La Fortuna then Monteverde (though not much more). However half the bags from the people who went horse riding went missing and didn´t turn up till the evening.

On our full day in La Fortuna we were going Canyoneering (trekking and abseiling through a canyon). It was a little drive out there and then we got all kitted out and jumped in pickup trucks to take us the last little bit. There was a big group of us (20 I think) and so there was a lot of waiting around on the trip. It started with a small abseil. then it was stright onto a 150 metre abseil down a waterfall. Then there was walking down a few smaller waterfalls and then a 200 metre abseil down a waterfall and a couple of smaller ones to finish. It was good fun but not amazing. Abeseiling down a waterfall is pretty stunning and walking down the smaller ones was a good challenge.

That afternoon I was doing a bungee rocket, which is pretty much like the bungy ball I did in Singapore, only without the ball. So there was two towers with the bungee atached to the top of each. And then me in the middle at the bottom attached to the bungee, they pulled the bungy tight, gave me a count down and released and I went flying up hitting 60mph in just 3 seconds, loved the acceleration and then a flip at the top was good fun as well. Then John did a bungee of the same tower, apparently his fifth one, but he still enjoys it.

It was another night to drink that night and we all headed to Jen and Toms room and played quite a few games, and had a fun night, even our guide got involved.

Yesterday was our last travel day on the trip and we were heading to San Jose. However to help us get we were using rafts for part of the way. We were rafting the grade 3-4 Rio Toro and it was raining and head been raining all the previous night which meant the river was higher and thus faster (woohoo) After getting to the river and getting the mandatory safety briefing we headed onto the rafts. This was probably the best rafting I have done so far. The rapids seemed to be constant and good fun ones as well. Halfway through Harriet dived onto our raft from hers and chucked me in the water (she fell in as well) though I couldn´t get anyone else in. We got stuck on of the rapids for about 5 mins after going down the less obvious of two routes down some rapids (a big wide bit and a small thin bit). In the end it was a bit over two hours on the water and although I was cold it was great.

We didn´t to San Jose till 6pm. For dinner we went to the fanciest resturant I have been in since Melbourne as a final group dinner. Amazing food that actually filled me up. Then when we got back to the hotel the Canadian girls and Harriet where they did awards from the trip ( I got best Adrenalin Junky) others included Helens "best injuries" and Jens "best Piglet".

Now this morning 9 of us off the trip and Johns friend who flew in last night were jumping off a perfectly good bridge with a bit of chord attached to our legs. We got picked up at 7am and got stuck in a traffic jam. It took ages to get out of the city and to the jump site. Out of the 10 jumpers I was fourth to go and although Iv done it before I was still nervous before hand. I watched the first 3 go and they all looked like they had fun then it was my turn. The jumpmasters attached the bungy to my leg harnesses and I got onto the platform. They counted me down from 5 and I fought every bone in my body and did a swan dive of the edge of bridge. It was great free falling again but before I knew it there was something pulling at my legs and I was on the way back up, then at the top of the first bounce (in particular) I went weightless and felt the harness loosen (its normal) then I was on the way down again. Then after bouncing around for a bit they send down another rope which I had to attach to my waist harness and they pulled me up. It took ages to actually grab this rope and two times to attach it to my harness, but it was definetly worth it. We got taken back to San Jose and I got dropped of at my new hostel for one last night in Costa Rica.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb