San Isidro #2


Advertisement
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey all! Well, I have thought of tonns of things to write over the weakend, and have of course forgottten most of them by now. Anyway, we started our spanish lessons today, and I'm pretty excited about it. Our teacher is great, and it is only Tyler, the teacher, and myself, so it is pretty concentrated. We are doing 8 2 hr classes, Mon, Tues, Thu, Fri, so I should have many chances of wirtiing, especially with the internet so cheap! Wel, a few people have asked a lot about the farm, so here isa a bit about it. We work Mon to Fri, 4 hrs a day. It'd pretty relaxed, we can work 2 2hr shifts if we want, or any other variation. We usually get up at 7, as it gets to hot in my tent to sleep after that. Proably because of the fly, but if I take the fly off, I wake up even earlier with the sun. Then their is a communal kitchen, it's pretty neat, there are no walls, because it doesn't really blow when it rains here, so there is just a roof and floor. We have a propane stove, but it takes forever, so we usually cook on the wood stove, which works great. We make all our own food, about half of it is provided, which has annoyed me a little, only because I understood that they provided staples, which they do, depending on your definition of it. If you are prepared to live on nothing but beans, rice, water and oats they do, but other things that I call staple eg bread, cheese, eggs, meat, you have to buy yourself. Anyway, as a result we have been eating alot of rice! Breakfast is perhaps my favourite meal, I've never had just uncooke oat before, but that is breakfast here. So oast, with friut, usually pinaple, mango and bananas all grown on the farm, and milk from the day before from the neighbors cow, and something called tapa de dulce, which tastes like brown sugar but way better, and is made from sugar cane from the nieghbors plants. We have bben doing different kinds of work, some in the fiels getting rid of dug up grass, very hot work, some easy stuff like painting, and lots of burning, which is very hot. the afternoons, befreo spanish started, we usually just laz around down by the river where we alternate from juggling the soccer ball to swimming in the river. Yah, it's a tough life. Everyone left today, so we had a big dinner last night with lts of food and music. Noty sure when/if other people are coming, but it's just Tyler and I for now. I once again forgot my cord, so I'll try to upload some pics tomorow. Wel, I'm sure I've forgotten tonns, but I guess it can wait untill tomorow. Started running again on the weakends, not to hot if your up early enough, havn't actually seen a thermometer since being here yet, but it's hot even for Miguel and Suzzana on the farm, probably mid thirties I would guess. It has started raining maost afternoosn, prety impressive! Well, Tyler is waiting for me, again, he alwasy seems faster, and we must get grocceries before the next bus!
Adios!
nick

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb