Valley of the frogs


Advertisement
Published: December 28th 2022
Edit Blog Post

From Manuel Antonio, moved up north on the coast to Tarcoles. Didn't stay in the village itself, but rather in a jungle village along the Tarcolitos river. This place is splendid: little units among big trees covered in Ferns and other plants; the Tarcolitos river with its cool river from the mountains; very nice gardens and more.

During the trip I was at the end of the rainy season. Some people told me that rainy season lasted longer this year and that interfered with some of animal behavior. Started in Osa peninsula, I really thought that it would be a good time for frogs...but no!! They were very hard to find. You know, reptiles and amphibians are my favorite animals, so I was a bit disappointed But this changed in Tarcoles, especially in the jungle village. It's named "Villa Lapas" (litt. macaws villa), but for me, it was villa ranas, (litt frogs villa). I saw at least least 15 varieties of frogs there, and some for the first time!! Added to that , our stay was very relaxing and this place, is really a place I would recommend. I hiked on the trails of the hotel, day and night, and took many pictures.

I took some time as well, to revisit Tarcoles bridge, with its huge crocodiles, (a must to-do in the region),and Carara national park. It was a real nice way to end this trip.



Next time, I should go to new places/countries in March or April. I always read and examine new places in advance before actually going somewhere, (it's half the fun!). I have 4 -5 places in mind but we'll see what it will be. :-)





Frog guarding her eggs. You can see the tadpoles moving:







Spider monkey moving in the trees:




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



3rd January 2023
red eye frog

I just love frogs
Frogs are so cute. I saw a BBC documentary on TV a few years ago where they during the filming of the episone on frogs discovered a frog illness that was quickly spreading across the world. Back then they feared that the illness could cause massive devastation to frog populations all over the world. But from your pictures it is obvious that worst possible scenario has not come true. /Ake

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb