Adrenaline RUSH


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

hostel pangehostel pangehostel pange

first and last night in a hostel
Okay, this was the best day so far. I´m so excited from our activities today. We started with the Selvatura bridge walk through Santa Elena Reserve. Basically, we hiked through the trees through bridges that connected one park to the other. Could have done without that one, but then we had the zipline tour. it is a definite must do here. its completely touristy, but who cares, i´m a tourist. its like repelling except there is no mountain/ face to swing off. We are dangling through the trees and really moving from one platform to another basically flying in the wind to the next platform. it was awesome. You know who, had so many negative comments about the event; i just had to ignore him. he once said, " my heart is racing because of the altitude". hehehe! tiene miedo. I believe the longest distance between platforms was 200 meters. no site of the infamous Quetzal bird.

At the end of the tour there was this "Tarzan" swing. I went for it since, i doubt i will go bungee jumping. you wear a waist harness and 2 safety ropes and they let you jump off a platform about 50 feet from the ground. of course, i asked a few questions like, "do i hold here? do i hold here? what about here?" yes, nervous energy!!!!!! Then i just jumped off and screamed for dear life. AWESOME!!!!!

you know who and i got into a squabble at lunch (#2), but that quickly dissipated once we got to our private horseback riding tour. okay, so i´m afraid of horses, but i didn´t want to keep that from doing this activity. i just swallowed my fear. i said nicey things to my horse, "castano" , and we were off. i was a little anxious at first, but soon felt more at ease. I just kept petting Castano during the trip. We saw a Tucan and some other birds plus the strangulating tree, "the strangulador". it does that to others trees so that it can reach the top. The best part of the trip was galloping through the fields. The wind was just blowing through my hair knocking out my pony tail. It was so EXCITING!!!!!!! I never galloped in my life and our guide told us we were going at least 25km. go figure out the mph and tell me. whatever, it
" don't you know..."" don't you know..."" don't you know..."

mid-calf deep water... is it possible to cross? por supuesto!
was fun!!! i got the hang of it quick and we galloped at least 4 times, in fact, my horse just kept wanting to gallop after that. did i say that i enjoyed it?

As far as Spanish is going... I´m using plenty of it sin una problema. Actually, Moises is helping me with my vocabulary. Yeah, something positive. Okay, he arranged the horseback riding event (positive #2)

Tomorrow is Monteverde hike and hopefully its nice a muddy so i can wear those knee high rubber boots. I´ll have to convince Moises to get into one of those suckers. I´m going to upload now.





Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

bridge walkwaybridge walkway
bridge walkway

forest seen through the trees
zip line zip line
zip line

geared up for flying in between the treez.
zip line 2zip line 2
zip line 2

too fast to see a quetzal
zip line 3zip line 3
zip line 3

braking at the very end. zipped into my guy. that didn't sound good :)
zip line 4zip line 4
zip line 4

had to put the "couple" in there
TarzanTarzan
Tarzan

My 50 foot free fall. I screamed the entire way down. still jumpy afterwards
gone with the windgone with the wind
gone with the wind

I have no solo pictures with my trusty horse, Castano. He was awesome!
stranguladorstrangulador
strangulador

Strangulador tree in the background
in the fieldsin the fields
in the fields

no photos of any galloping, but it was incredibly exciting and powerful.


29th June 2005

Hi Jan, sounds like so much fun!!! this is a great to keep up with all your activities. take care. love al

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb