La cucaracha, la cucaracha...


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

...ya no puede caminar. Porque no tiene, porque le falta Marihuana que fumar. (I dont think this is the proper version...)
So I made it to Puerto Jimenez in one piece, although travelling on my own and missing the correct bus stop... Well, I was supposed to get off in Palmar Norte, which is in the north of the Pensinsula de Osa and about 6-7 hours on the bus from San Jose. I kind of missed the announcement of my bus stop and carried on for 1.5 hours which let me to Neilly, close to the border to Panama. Mhh.. Must say, I got a bit scared but then just got on the bus to Golfito, which is on the Gulfo Dulce, pretty nice and close to Puerto Jimenez. I stayed in Golfito for 2 nights, as I arrived on Friday evening and wanted to wander around in the area. So, I found this really cute place called El Toucan for $10 a night, private room with TV and A/c. Bargain! It had a catch though... Well, that evening I had my first encounter with a Costa Rican cockroach! For those who havent seen one before, they are pretty big and freaking ugly! Didnt sleep well that night! But stayed and left for Puerto Jimenez on Sunday morning. I took the boat, which takes just over 30 minutes. Guess what, I met some more Germans on the boat and actually ended up in the same hostel. So, I hung out with another Katrin from Hamburg the last few days, which was quite cool! We shared a room, screamed together at night when we saw 3!!! cucaraches in our room. Yeah, not sure what other people in the hostel thought, but what do you expect for $6 a night... Went kayaking on the ocean where we saw dolphins and racoons, birds and crabs in the Mangroves. Pretty awesome! And yes, I nearly fell over board, but got my balance back in the last second! Phew! We ate lots of chocolate today at a chocolate farm called Köbö Farm (Farm of dreams). 100% chocolate with fresh fruits from the farm! The chocolate was soooo good!! Absolutely delicious! Learned a lot about chocolate, coffee, bananas and other fruit and spices. Really interesting! Apparently the Germans eat a huge amount of chocolate (11.7% or something of the world consumation) and are in third place after the US (33.4%) and someone else... Also, the tour guide only spoke Spanish, although we booked an English Guide, and I understood everything! He actually said afterwards, when we chatted a bit, that my Spanish was quite good! Ha! I am so proud right now! What else did we do, played a lot of table soccer, lost, well I am rubbish and lost a 30 minutes worth a massage... Met really nice Canadians, had a pretty special time waiting in the bank to change money and having to listen to some very impatient, rude and loud US Americans (thats 4 different people) and saw some crocs today! SO yeah, travelling solo is great! Especially because you meet so many people and it super safe!
I am finally going on a hike tomorrow in the Cabo Matapolo to see some animals. I was planning on going on a 3 day hike in Corcovado, which is a huge National Park in Osa, but it turns out to be quite expensive and I am not so sure that I would survive 8 hours hikes for 3 days with a big backpack. So, the Cabo Matapolo, which I booked with some guide here is private and sounds a lot better! Leaving at 6am though. I will probably be heading to Bahia Drake for some lazing on the beach on Thursday as there are no fab beaches over here and I also want to go horse-back riding.
So thats it again for now!
Whats up in Europe?? Are we going to the Olympics or not?
Hasta luego!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb