Corcovado


Advertisement
Published: December 20th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

corcovado


The boat arrive to Drake Bay. No dock, so you need to walk barefoot in the sea to reach the coast. This adds to the experience. :-)

Drake Bay village is not compact as many little hills and ravines are interspersed all over the place.

Our transport brought us inland in Los Planes little village, close to one of corcovado's entrance. We rented a small hut, directly beside the forest. Gardens are splendid and full of birds!!

I also saw tapir's tracks near my hut. They sometimes come in the night to graze on some of the plants garden's.

One thing I noticed is the abundance of big birds like toucans and macaws which you can see and hear all day. I got good shots of toucans. For the macaws, it's a bit different: they are very easy to hear, but they rarely stand long in an isolated tree, if not in the forest. I got pictures anyway, but later in the trip, got very good ones. The owner of the accommodation made us feel like oart fo the family, and the ambiance was really pleasant.

The corcovado entrance near to where I live is closed, but the forest is so close that it's not a problem to explore close to it.

I booked a tour to go deeper into the park, at the renowned Sirena station. It's a good rough one hour boat ride, still hard for the back, but I came prepared this time!!

Park is very well organized. There used to be an airstrip, but not anymore: only arrivals by boats.

Fauna is abundant and I was really pleased to come here!!

Saw plethora of birds, the 4 monkey species of the country, and also some rarer animals: a female tapir and her young, a tamandua anteater and a 4 meters boa!!

I would have stayed longer, but it was time to go!!

Visited some other trails near of my accommodation and still got good shots of animals.

After 4 days, time to leave. I returned to Drake Bay and stayed there 2 days. It's a bit more noisy but the view from the room was great. I caught Covid in between, and I got time to rest while I was there.

Next stop Uvita.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement




3rd January 2023
tamandua

So cute
Such a cute animal. I hope I get to see one as well one day. /Ake

Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 25; qc: 103; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb