Saving A Library and paying 4x the going rate for beer


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last night we all went out to the library fundraiser at Karola's in Manuel Antonio. It was great to see so many people there and they raised a lot of money for the library which is awesome. I also had one of the funniest nights of people watching I've had since I got here. Unfortunately, I forgot to bring my camera so my recitation of my memories will have to suffice...

My instructors here at school, and the two hold overs from the last class are some of the most amusing people to watch when they get a little drunk. I really had fun watching the "walk-off" dance contest they kept throwing down. Got to see Heidi do a handstand which was pretty stinkin' cool. They're a lot of fun to hang out with. I also got to see another member of the staff sing with the band, which I really enjoyed. She had a little stage fright, but we gave her all the support we could and she did great!

Unfortunately, they drinks were very expensive there. 1,800 (then 2,000 after a little bit!) for a beer that costs 500 in town is pretty expensive. So I didn't do a lot of drinking there.

Went from there to Liquid which is the local gay club. I went with girls and "guarded mi culo" as I like to say, but there were lots of straight guys there too, and a bunch of girls. If you like house music Liquid is about the only game in town save for Republik which I have stood in front of a couple times, but have yet to actually enter. Word on the street is Liquid is better anyway... and even though it's small, I am leaning towards agreeing with that assessment.

Had a good time there, then left with Amy and came back to Quepos, which was surprisingly dead for a Saturday night. Worked out her cab situation and then mine and came back "home" about 3am. So all in all, it was a good night, albeit a little expensive. But that's why I only go out once on the weekends and I don't drink heavy where the prices are absurd.

Now it's time to get back to work prepping materials for my class tomorrow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb