Manuel Antonio this weekend


Advertisement
Published: July 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Thank God I´ve had Andres here my first week. I practice my spanish on him while we watch dubbed reruns of the OC and he practices the little english he knows on me. And he doesn´t seem to mind that I should like Ivan Drago from Rocky 4 when I talk. Last night I had my best conversation yet. Vilma, Andres and I talked for almost 2 hours straight about pretty much everything, it was excellent.

Classes are good, but we haven´t been talking as much as I´ve wanted to in them. It´s been mostly us listening to the professor, which is okay I guess.

I´m not going back to Punteranas this weekend; I asked my famiy if it would be okay if I went with friends to school to Manuel Antonio for the weekend so i could see a different part of the country. They didn´t seem to mind at all. I think a bunch of us, maybe 10 other students are going to Manuel Antonio which is really beautiful i hear, and a national park/rainforest which is part of the city. Anyway, its about 2 hours south of Jacó, which is about 2 hours west of san Jose, so a four hour bus ride in total. We´re renting a couple rooms at a hotel, though I personally wanted to opt for the cabins on the beach, but my ideas have been pushed away like a can of spam by all the chicks here, so i´m just going with the flow. I also got a good feeling I´ll have some great Marcos stories when i get back.

Things are incredibly cheap here. A 4 hour bus ride to Manuel Antonio is only 3 bucks and a night in the hotel is like 6 dollars a person. Also, a 6-pack of corona is only a $1.50, not that i would know how much that costs in the U.S. mom, but i think it´s considerably cheaper. The rod i bought is a really nice shakespeare; real sexy looking with the reel i brought with so dad you are going to have to buy yourself a new reel because i´m keeping this one.

I gave my box of rice krispie treats to Andres, and the kid loves em; muy rico he says. Side note; while I´m writing this the lady next door is blowing chunks something fierce.

I get waited on like a God here. After I came in the other night soaking wet, grandma dryed off my feet! And whenever, I sit down at the dinner table, BOOM, a plate of heaping food magically appears. The men get waited on big time down here, like they should, and I think American broads could learn a thing or two from them. I´m only kidding LoL. (deep down i´m not)

Not much new to report. but to answer a burning question for someone, the toilet paper, well its not great, it could be worse, as in it could be sandpaper, but its a atleast one grade above that.

Everyone be safe this weekend. Talk to you on Monday! Hopefully i´ll have pictures to post by then.

pura vida
Luke

Advertisement



15th July 2005

ya'know
I'm happy to hear your women bashing. You've finally taken some steps to become a real man. All thats going on with me, is that Jon can't stop talking about his pineapple party. You wouldn't believe how excited he is about it. I dunno if I'll be able to go or not though, we'll see. Anyways, I have a feeling that when we get back to school your gonna be speaking lots of Spanish around us (in a similar fashion to how you talked about complicated science stuff around us (Jon and I) all semester) <~~~~~~ I hope you like the parens in parens, and I'm not looking forward to all that Spanish. Haha. Alright man, see ya.
18th July 2005

Hey Luke!
i personally think that the guys should wait on the girls like they are the kings(: i think that would be a good time all around.

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb