Jacó


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Good morning everyone.



Yesterday I got knee deep in some tropical paradise. Jeremy and I woke up early (5am) to take the bus out to Jacó, a beautiful beach on the pacific side. I guess I should paint a picture of exactly where I am though. San Jose is a highly elevated plateau practically surrounded by mountains and seven active volcanoes.

We used our Spanish and charm to eventually figure out what bus we needed. Then we decided to just take a taxi out to Jacó. Our driver Francisco, was also the chief of the San Jose Red Cross and he also had another job that I didn't really understand. Fruit smuggler or something. It was so cool to see the country side. We even had a chance to drive by the President's house. Costa Rica has a female president named Laura Chinchilla. She lives in a red house on top of a mountain. We're doing lunch tomorrow if I feel like it. She was mumbling something about me becoming the Primero Hombre de Costa Rica, but I wasn't following.

The beach was beautiful. Exactly the type of tropical paradise you'd expect. The beach has almost a reddish, blackish hue to it due to the volcanic activity. We walked the whole beach, more or less taking it in. The beach has several little rivers that run into the ocean from the mountains. At low tide they're only about a foot deep so it's easy to cross them. Little did I know, about fifty yards up the street it is a full fledged river filled with this bastard. Just a little Caiman crocodile chilling in some sun. There were also a bunch of Iguanas, Anoles, and exotic Pigeons chilling around too.

Despues the beach, we grabbed some lunchski at The Jacó Fish Taco, because it rhymed and its chairs were swings. I would recommend the Huevos Rancheros and Mango Smoothie. In fact, we're in a fruit mecca so the mangos, piñas, aguacates and etc have all been wicked delicious. And the coffee.

So we headed back to the beach. At high tide, you can ride the waves into the small rivers. It's like white water rafting, without the raft, but with crocodiles. That was a blast. Afterwards I literally fell asleep for a while under a palm tree.

Jeremy and I capped our day off with a few drinks while watching the local surfers do what they do. The bus back into town was wicked long so we didn't go out afterwards. Today, I think Caitlin and I and a few of the teachers are going out to see what's up. I'm still getting my bearings so it's nice to have some guides. Class doesn't start til Wednesday, so until then ¿

Ciao.

I'm not sure why, but the other pictures I wanted to post aren't appearing when I publish this. I'll just post them to faceweb or something. It's got something to do with the length of the entry vs. number of pictures. Bleh.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0209s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb