return to jaco


Advertisement
Costa Rica's flag
Central America Caribbean » Costa Rica » Puntarenas » Jaco
January 22nd 2011
Published: February 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I returned to Jaco on a beautiful morning at approximately 10.30. I was back. I couldn't believe it. That's a lie. I could believe it, it was kind of always my plan to return just one last time. However I had told myself it would be a flying visit. Two days maximum. Ha. Isn't that the way. When you plan something it never goes according to plan. When you don't plan something it follows the natural progression of the world. It happens, however you want it or don't want it to happen but you're fine with it because you hadn't really thought too much about how you wanted it to play out. I stayed for a week in Jaco and I had a fabulous time.
However coming back to Jaco as a visitor and not a student at school of the world was completely different. I no longer had my little Oasis to hang out in, although I was pretty much there every day. I was alone in the big bad world that is Jaco. I could see before and I can definitely see now that Jaco isn't all that pretty. It is inundated with tourists almost every day of the week which means it's busy; cars, bikes, moto's, horses, people everywhere. The water can be somewhat dirty and the beaches are super crowded over the weekends BUT and this is a very big but. I still felt at home. I felt comfortable, like I belonged there. Jaco has wonderful resturaunts, lovely locals, a great bakery, an air conditioned supermarket and good beer. But Jaco is what it is. I won't deny that there are prostitutes and drugs and there are Westerners who are keeping both of these businesses in full swing. Yet these problems are everywhere in the world. If you know where to hang out and where NOT to hang out then Jaco is a safe and fun place to be. I mean its the closest beach from San Jose, the roads are paved and there is selection, you know choices that you can make. However since travelling the Nicoya coast and visiting the small beach side towns with their unpaved roads, small shops and cute little resturaunts, their relatively un touched beaches and the wildlife it makes me look a little differently at Jaco. I guess you could say it's like the Surfers Paradise of the Gold Coast. I know that I'd much rather stay in Burleigh Heads yet I know that in Surfers you have everything, including the tourists and sometimes that's just what you want. So all in all don't go to Jaco for your honeymoon. There are many more beautiful places in Costa Rica you could visit. Although, do go if you like to surf and if your in San Jose and wanting to do a couple of days somewhere. Oh and do eat at Wishbone's!
I had a fabulous week in Jaco catching up with everyone from the school, hanging out with the guys, drinking beer and rum and attempting to play pool, watching another great band at Tabacon, swimming in 'my beach' and basically hanging out whilst everyone else worked or studied! After staying with the boys until Wednesday I moved on out to Hermosa to stay with Nic at the yoga retreat for 3 days which was also great. Much quieter, a lot more zen and generally a nice place to 'be'. On this note a big thanks to the boys and Nicole for letting me crash! It is much appreciated.
And so I guess this was the week that was....my very last ladies night, the week that had the day where I lost it completely over my obsessive compulsiveness to clean, many taxi rides into Jaco, food, swimming and longing for my camera, oh how I long for my camera.

I feel like this blog would be super boring to read, so if you got this far congratulations, but nevertheless it will be fun for me to look back on in ten years. After all this is for me to look back on. Well done to those who get through any of my blogs. I try to make them as entertaining as possible but sometimes, depending on my mood they just don't cut it. Today, I feel, is one of those days.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0909s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb