Happy Easter!


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As I'm writing, it's Good Friday and I've just returned from visiting the small port town of San Juan del Sur in Nicaragua. This is the first time the Star Princess has stopped at this port but the towns people were well prepared for our visit with plenty of security and opportunities to buy handcrafted goods.

Since it's a holiday, a lot of locals were spending the day at the beach and waiting for the annual parade. Three of us paid $5 to take a scenic ride around the town on a bicycle carriage made for two, the poor cyclist huffed and puffed while maneuvering the bike up the hills and through the traffic, but for us anyway, the ride was well worth it as we were able to find a great little restaurant over looking the beach that we walked back to and had a couple of beers and shrimp cocktails.
We finished off the day with souvenir shopping at the market before taking the tender back to the ship.

Yesterday's stop was one of my favorite ports yet, eco-friendly Puntarenas, Costa Rico, located on the Pacific side as opposed to the Caribbean. Our guide Masiel, a young
Egrit on Tarcoles RiverEgrit on Tarcoles RiverEgrit on Tarcoles River

I think that's the way you spell it???
energetic naturalist guide says this is the prettiest side of the country and even though I've never been to the Caribbean side, I have to agree the Pacific side is breathtakingly beautiful. Costa Rico receives 100-300 inches of rain annually and this is the end of their dry season but the landscape remains incredibly alive and vibrant. We were so lucky to catch the Yellow Cortex Mimoso trees in full bloom as they only bloom one week out of the year and this is the week we are here!

There were so many things I wanted to see in this country but with only one day, I chose to take the Pacific Aerial Tram through the rainforest in the morning and a cruise up the Tarcoles River through the Guacalillo Estuary in the afternoon. The tram was 1 hour in length and Masiel narrated for us as we glided slowly through the giant trees, hanging gardens and small waterfalls. On our way back down, we had a phenomenal view of the Pacific Ocean.

After the tram, our guide took us for a walk around the park and pointed out several plants that are specific to the area. Of course, a tour is not complete without a visit to the snake exhibit. Since I have a phobia of snakes, I didn't take any pictures but remembered the stats - 137 different species with 22 poisonous. The most territorial one being the Ferdiland. Other charming snakes in this exhibit included Costa Rican Rattlesnakes, Boa Constrictors and Vipers....all of which gave me the ejee beejies. One even shed it's skin and it was laying outside the enclosed glass area,. I pointed this out to the guide and she thought this was peculiar as well and mentioned it to the park official....I was so ready to end this part of the tour and get back to my cozy air-conditioned bus, but not before checking out the bats sleeping inside a palm leaf.

The afternoon was spent cruising up the Tarcoles River sight seeing many different species of birds and crocodiles. Even though we didn't see any Scarlett Macaws, we heard them screaming. Our guide says the Macaws fight constantly amongst themselves but are loyal mates and even after one dies, will never allow another to enter the nest.

Even with the snakes and termites, I could absolutely live in this beautiful country. Perhaps I could learn Spanish and get a job with Intel? Intel is the #1 exporter here in Costa Rica exporting microchips. Can you believe that?

One more week and I'll be home.....I'll miss the gorgeous sunsets but am so looking forward to sleeping in my own bed and enjoying real Mexican food. I'm praying I'll be able to find some good Mexican food in Acapulco or Cabo??? If not, I'll just have to wait another week for Arriba's....

Happy Easter to All!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

termitestermites
termites

Termites in trees were visible in all countries beginning with Panama. They eat the dead wood off the trees and the Parakeets use them for their nests. YUK!
costa rica birdcosta rica bird
costa rica bird

I hate to say it but I can't remember the name of this bird but there were quite a few of them nesting in the trees on the Tarcoles River.


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb