Days One and Two


Advertisement
Published: August 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Costa Rica


Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

View from San Jose Marriott
Hola everyone!
It is my second night in the BEAUTIFUL Costa Rica and I thought I would attempt my first blog post. My dad and I arrived safely in San Jose, Costa Rica last night, although we had a slight run for our money in the Dallas Airport. On our quick layover, we ordered burgers and just as we were sitting to eat, they called "last boarding" for our flight to Costa Rica. Needless to say, my dad shoved our burgers into his carry on, we rushed to the plane, made it on, and had enough time to finish our food before we took off haha! The Marriott Hotel we stayed at in San Jose was gorgeous and we slept well. We enjoyed our complementary buffet breakfast and then were driven to the Marriott Hotel in Herradura, just north of Jaco. On our way to Herradura we stopped at a bridge crossing the Tarcoles River to observe a few huge crocodiles in their natural habitat. Apparently Costa Rica is home to some of the largest crocs in the world. Our driver Alexis was a very friendly man, and I was pleased to find that I understood almost everything he said in Spanish! I am attempting to practice my Spanish at every opportunity, but unfortunately most of the staff in the Marriott speak very good English. After we checked in here in Herradura, we had a mellow day on the beach and by the pool. It was mainly overcast, but warm and tropical. Everything was going smoothly until my dad started throwing up a few hours ago... he says he thinks it was from our ceviche lunch, however I ate it too and feel great. I guess my dad's curse of getting sick on EVERY vacation strikes again. I went down to the bar to get him some limes and a soda, and the bartender also gave me a shot of brown stuff he called "medicino magico" that should help his stomach... we'll see how the remedy goes. We have plans to go zip-lining early tomorrow morning and more fun adventures planned for the rest of the week. Until next time,
Pua Vida


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

San Jose Marriott Courtyard
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

Croc swimming...
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

View of Tarcoles River
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Mas crocs
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Herradura Marriott Room
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

View from room balcony
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

One of three of our lunch friends
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

On the run
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

By the pool


29th August 2011

Costa Rican Adventures begin!
Miss you! You're going to have so much fun. I'm so jealous. Seriously. LOVE YOU!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb