Tortuguero, Costa Rica (Jan. 28-30, 2018)


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2023
Edit Blog Post



It took a bit of time getting here. First i had to take the morning bus from San Jose to Caricari. From Caricari I took a bus to La Pavona/La Suerte. The route took us through banana plantation. I'd forgotten how banana had once been the gold of the America. "Green" gold as it was known then. La Pavona/La Suerte was where I took the boat to Tortuguero. Tortuguero felt like an island. I believe there were only two small convenience store. One ran by an asian lady. The population looked mostly mestizo and African descent. I didn't do much but hung out locally. The national park was nearby, but I wasn't interested in it. I hung out on the beach, which didn't look very clean. Not sure if thats naturally how it is or due to pollution. I saw some giant parrots there. It was surreal to think that I was on a strip of land surrounded by aquatic predators. Alligators on the river side and shark on the ocean side. It rained during the boat ride back. It was a beautiful moment.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb