La Tortuga Feliz


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Saw a coral snake today on the beach. One of the locals found it and placed it into a bucket. It was a beautiful animal, and one of the most poisonous ones in the country. Later in the afternoon, we saw a vine snake, just this long bright green colored snake, slithering within the trees. 6 new people came today, which is always nice to meet new people. I had a 2 to 6 morning hatchery shift and it was a great night because two nests came in and I got to work on one of them. I had to dig a leatherback nest and make it just right; it was a lot of fun to do!! Then I had to put all 97 eggs in. The eggs are big, and they are very soft, not like a chicken egg. Saw the sunrise around 5 and then went straight to bed!!

Advertisement



16th July 2010

The coral snake rocks. I am glad you did not get bit by it. That is awesome too that you got to use your nest digging training to make a nest. Did you get any pictures of the eggs? 97...that seems like a lot..how many eggs do turtles lay at once usually? I bet the sunrise in Costa Rica is gorgeous?
17th July 2010

I did not get any pictures of the eggs, sadly. I did not have my camera with me when at those moments. Turtles usually lay anywhere between 90 and 110 eggs.....but they lay the fertile ones first, and then the non fertile ones, which are super tiny!!

Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb