Es queeeeee


Advertisement
Published: March 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hola! Back again and It has officially been two months! Ehh makes me nervous cause I still fill like i have alot of goals left to accomplish.. como 1) master Spanish (not even close) 2) make ALOT of tico friends which is actually i alot harder than I thought it was going to be. Was it stupid to assume that because I am an exchange student that people were going to just automatically want to be my friend? Silly girl.. All i have to say is that I'm going to be super super nice to any and all exchange students when I get back home. Okay its not like anyone here is mean (well there have been a few "interesting" incidents) but not too many are just super friendly. I have starting going to this English class though and they are pretty nice in there. Just being here as made me really aware of the effect my country has on even jsut the tiniest country of Costa Rica (both good and bad things). While some (probably most) Latin Americans are hospitable to people from the states, some really don't like us at all. Kind of a hard pill to swallow but at the same time I have become more aware of world affairs and our big part in them while being here. Sometimes it makes me bitter, but then I just have to think that I came here to open my mind for the good and bad. Anywaysss enough boring you with my reflecting, I still have a lot of places i wanna see too! But this weekend we finally went to the Caribbean side and it was beautiful!! Cahuita is a smaller town along the coast which most people pass through on their way too Puerto Viejo. But i dont know why cause its great! There is hardly anyone except locals in this very Caribbean-influenced town which has like one main road, alot of little different lodgeings and restaurants. The locals are a mix of browns and blacks and almost all bilingual (jealous). Its such a tranquila atmosphere with not much to do but be lazy on the beach all day, what more could you ask for? Playa Negra is this great black sand beach we went to on Friday and then Saturday we went into the Cahuita National Park which is gorgeous as well. There was a TON of wildlife in the park from snakes, monkeys, birds, racoons, slothes, to lizards. Actually we were walking on one of the trails and I noticed a snake slithering on some leaves and this really big lizard next to it so we all kind of stopped and had a freak out until this white-faced monkey comes charging down the trail from ahead. He ran up a tree right next to us and my friend Brandon (smart one) lets the monkey see his PB snadwich and the monkey jumps down and makes a little hissy face and we seriously thought he was gonna attack. So he gave him the sandwich and we ran. Feeding monkeys is not allowed... wonder why? Also the racoons stole the rest of our bread and then refused to go away but just sat there looking cute.. stupid racoons. Either way, it was a great way to spend a couple of days. Que mas?? Ehh i dont know, i feel like i'm forgetting something good but as it is I need to go study for my first exam tomorrow! Don't worry its just for Spanish class. Thats all! peace and blessings!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb