Vegetation


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Blog Entry by Valarie: Vegetation

We have been here just over a week, so we have become somewhat accustomed to our new homes, new school, and new schedules. Although I am very familiar with my walk to school, I never get bored looking at what is on the way there. I knew before I arrived that Costa Rica would be very green, but I guess I never really anticipated how green. Green is not the only beautiful color I have the privilege of seeing every day. There are breathtaking flowers everywhere that my eyes wander. There is clearly no reason to wonder why there are so many beautiful flowers here--the hot morning sun and the afternoon showers here give the plants all the care they need. In fact, our city--San Joaquín de Flores--is named for the gorgeous flowers of the region. The vegetation is not limited to our region, however. This weekend, we visited Manuel Antonio National Park, and our eyes could not escape the vast greenness of Costa Rica for a second on the four hour ride from San Joaquín to the rainforest. It goes without saying that there were very unique plants in Manuel Antonio, and it was quite an experience to see the animals that live in them.

(All photos of vegetation in this entry taken by Valarie)


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



18th June 2009

Valerie, Your photographs are excellent! I love the vivid colors. Thanks for sharing the pictures with us. Carol Jones
19th June 2009

Unusual blossom
Val, the blossom is lovely. It looks somewhat like a poinsettia. I love flowers; thanks for the picture. Love, Grandmom

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb