La Selva Last Week


Advertisement
Published: September 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

cabinascabinascabinas

researchers stay here
Buenos!

Sorry I haven't posted in a while, the last few days have been soooo busy. We were finishing our independent projects. It feels really good to be done! We collected a total of 133 strawberry poison dart frogs for the research. Then we had to prepare a 12 minute presentation and write a 12 page paper - Aye carumba. We did the presentation yesterday and I turned in my paper last night. I feel like I should be more relieved than I am, but maybe thats because we have midterm exams coming up 😞 So not really much exciting news to report.

But after that we go to our homestay! I am definitely excited to get a break from biology. During the homestay all we will be studying is Spanish - and we always have three day weekends! We are already talking about what day trips could be fun around San Pedro.

Another student group arrived here a few days ago. They are from Germany and also studying biology. A couple people in our group speak German but the Germans speak English as well. And their spanish has a very unique accent.

It has been raining
stone stepsstone stepsstone steps

part of the arboleda trail
more lately. It's a bummer when its begins to rain when you are all the way across the bridge and you forget your raincoat. Its never cold though so I guess it could be worse. Also there is really cool lightning! Sometimes even when it isn't raining. One night it was so intense when it flashed that the whole sky light up with a bright purple color - others weren't as impressed as me....maybe there are more lightning storms on the east coast?

These are the last of my La Selva pics. I have taken some with my phone also but havent figured out how to upload them yet....hopefully soon.

Miss you familia

Kelsey


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

boardwalkboardwalk
boardwalk

we saw a red-eyed tree frog here one night. pretty cute.
lizardlizard
lizard

these guys are sooo fast. lucky to get a pic.
peccariespeccaries
peccaries

they smell


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb