Just call me Senora...


Advertisement
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Buenos dias from Costa Rica!!

I was all excited to continue with my past blog entries under the same user name (kmclain) but apparently I used my accenture email address and forgot the password...boooo. I guess I should have signed up a new blog as ksteffen - ooops, that one has not stuck in my head yet.

That's right....I am no longer a Senorita. I must say the first trip as a Mrs. has been quite great thus far. This is the first time I have ever blogged sitting outside in 90+ weather surrounded by singing birds, a beautiful pool, leaping lizards, and my husband reading a book next to me. 😊

We made it to San Jose without any problem, and were able to catch a ride to the Marriott hotel we stayed our first night at. I pull the 'honeymoon' card as much as possible these days...there they gave us some wine and cheese for our room. Very nice. San Jose was much like I would imagine. We got in late so saw the city by night...a standard big city. Any chain you could possibly imagine. Hooters was right by our hotel. The next morning we ate a quick breakfast, went to the bank to get some colones and were off in a taxi to the local airport to catch our plane. It definitely was not much of an airport or a plane....but it held the 6 of us passengers and pilots just fine. 😊 The 45 minute ride to the coast where we are now (town of Nosara) was beautiful. We only flew around 10,000 feet so we got nice views of San Jose, the mountains and ocean during our flight. The "airport" here was just a short gravel road amongst some cows, but they did a great job. I would definitely recommend Nature Air - can't beat $39 plane tickets!

We are staying at the Harmony Hotel. An eco-resort here on la Playa Guiones in Nosara. Definitely like no place I have ever stayed, but it is perfect. The people have been incredible, the food is awesome, we have our own little bungalow to spend the evenings in. During the day, we have relaxed a lot. I am finally caught up on my lost sleep over the last week! We lay by the pool (they don't use chlorine - part of the eco-friendly
This is the airport?This is the airport?This is the airport?

That is a worried smile...
thing I guess), visit the beach (more on that later), watch the sunsets, and just relax.

The beach here is nice. Clear water and BIG waves. This is known to have some of the best surfing in the country so if we go out during the high tide times, we see some monsters and some pretty crazy people. Lots of surfers. We decided...while in Rome...so surfing lessons we did. Yep, who would have pictured Phil and I on surfboards...none of you I'm sure. I think we have both decided to retire, but that is mainly due to the workout. You shouldn't have to work that hard on a vacation!! We both managed to get up and 'ride' a couple of waves. But the currents are so strong, that we were exhausted by the time we got back to ride another.

Other than that, things have been pretty low key. We walked the beach yesterday and then walked into the trees to find a little restaurant where we had a nice dinner with beautiful views of the sunset. Walking the 20+ minute walk back in the pitch dark was a bit interesting, but we made it! Speaking of night...the stars here are gorgeous. More than I have seen in a long time. The moon doesn't seem to be out, so it is dark minus the milky way of stars!

Today we are going to plant our tree - and just do some more wandering/relaxing. Tomorrow we will get our rental car and try to work our way to some mountain town (yet to be determined). We have had our first experience at the roads around here - taking the 10 min. taxi ride to this place...and they are definitely interesting. They give the roads in Africa a run for their money!

Wish us luck. Love y'all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



6th March 2008

Congrats and We Miss You
Looks like you're having a wonderful time and great weather. You're not missing much here since it's been in the 30's. Have a wonderful time and savor every moment because the real world awaits your return :-)
10th March 2008

Congratulations to both you love birds. I wish you guys the best. Kristin, you are hilarious. I absolutely love your blogs, you crack me up. Now I know how much fun these are to read when you are sitting at home having wander lust. I wish I could have been there to watch the surfing lesson. I haven't been to the beach since Senegal. Remember the streakers? Have fun you too. Lots of Love, Meg

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb